Rupendehi wins Deaf Cricket Title

Cricnepal/Kathmandu – Rupandehi defeated Kathmandu by 2 wickets in the final of the National Deaf Cricket Tournament and were crowned champions in the fourth edition of the tournament. The match was played at Siddhartha Stadium, Bhairahawa.

Kathmandu won the toss and put up small total of 59 runs batting for 18.3 over. Rupendehi reached the target in 12.1 overs for the loss of 8 wickets.

Rinjin Lama top scored for Kathmandu with 14 runs and was the only batsmen from Kathmandu to get to double digits. Keshav Neupane bagged two wickets for Rupendihi to restrict Kathmandu to small total. Rupendehi got to the target riding on 19 runs from Hom Bahadur KC and 12 from Keshav Neupane. Madan Poudel picked up 3 wickets for Kathmandu.

Keshav Neupane was declared the man of the match for his all round show. There were more silverware for Rupendehi as Kehav Neupane also got the most valueable player of the tournament. Jayanand Tiwari and Purna Bahadur Thapa were declared the best batsmen in the tournament. Both Jayanand  and Purna play for Rupendehi. Sher Bikarm Karki was named the best bowler.

Rupendehi with the win pocketed a cash purse of Rs 15,000. Runners-up Kathmandu took Rs 10,000.
Siddharthanagar Municipality Chief Executive Tika Dutta Rai, Nepal Deaf Cricket Association President Sarayu Prasad Sherchan were among the dignitaries present who gave away the prizes to the winners.

The best players from the six-team tournament will be picked up for the 2014 Deaf Cricket World Cup to be held in the United Arab Emirates.



About the author

Arun Upreti

Arun Upreti shares his deep rooted passion for Cricket working at Cricnepal. His stories often contains detailed history and clinical examination of several aspects of the game.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Latest News

This Day In History

No Events