Aasif Sheikh honoured with ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022

Latest news

- Advertisement -
Topics mentioned in this article
- Advertisement -

Nepal’s wicketkeeper-batsman, Aasif Sheikh has received the ICC spirit of cricket award 2022. The award is annually awarded by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to recognize the player or team upholding the spirit of the game.

Aasif became the first player from Nepal to win the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award after his decision not to run out Andy McBrine after the Irish star tripped while attempting a run was acknowledged.

What Happened?

Nepal and Ireland faced off in the sixth match of the Quadrangular series in Oman on 14 February 2022. Ireland were put in to bat first but Nepal had the scoring rate on a leash by picking up regular wickets. At 113/8 at the end of 18 overs, Ireland needed a late flourish with the bat to post a fighting total.

Kamal Singh Airee was tasked with bowling the 19th over. Off the third ball, Mark Adair went for a big heave over the leg side but the ball hit his leg and dropped towards the leg side. The bowler, in his attempt to retrieve the ball, collided with non-striker Andy McBrine, as a result of which the Irish batter tripped and fell halfway on the pitch.

Airee quickly got to the ball and threw it to keeper Aasif Sheikh, at which point McBrine got back up but was well short of his crease. However, Aasif decided not to whip the bails off, a gesture that received widespread recognition across the cricketing fraternity.

Ireland ended up posting 127 and Nepal fell 17 runs short as they were bowled out for 111.

For the gesture, Aasif Sheikh bagged the Spirit of Cricket Award.

Via – ICC

Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -