Nepal Women, News

ACC announces updated schedule for Women’s Asia Cup 2024

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has unveiled the updated schedule for the ACC Women’s Asia Cup 2024. The tournament which is set to be played in Sri Lanka, kicks off on July 19.

In this edition of the Women’s Asia Cup, eight teams will compete, divided into two groups of four teams. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals.

Nepal is in Group A alongside India, Pakistan and UAE. Similarly, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia and Thailand are in Group B.

Nepal initially missed out on the tournament after a narrow defeat against Malaysia in the semifinal of the ACC Women’s Premier Cup, as only two spots were available. However, the ACC later announced that all semifinalists from that tournament would qualify, confirming Nepal’s place as well.

Currently, the Nepalese team is rigorously training in Kathmandu in preparation for the Asia Cup. They are in a closed camp, and the final squad is yet to be announced.

Nepal’s Schedule:

July 19 – vs UAE
July 21 – vs Pakistan
July 23 – vs India