In Focus

ACC Reveals 2014 Calendar; Introduces Two-Day Cricket

Asian Cricket Council

Kathmandu – Asian Cricket Council(ACC) has revealed the dates and venues of all ACC Tournaments of 2014 including a 2 day Cricket tournament-“ACC Championships” to be held at the end of the year among the top 4 teams.

The top Associate Countries of ACC – Afghanistan, Nepal, UAE, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and Oman will take part in the top ACC Tournament ACC Premier Trophy in May. The tournament will be held in Malaysia from 4th-10th May. The top four teams of the ACC Premiere Trophy will qualify for ACC Championships-which is the final Cricket Tournament in ACC calendar. The qualifying teams will play two-day Cricket matches. ACC Championships will be held in UAE from 7th-14 December

Starting 2014 ACC is adopting the three tier structure of tournaments where the 18 Asian Countries (Non-test playing) are divided into three divisions – Premiere-Elite-and Emerging of six teams each. The respective ACC tournaments will function for the relegation and upgrade of teams from one division to another. (ACC was functioning on two tier system since 2006).

From age level to senior side Nepal will take part in 6 different ACC events. Nepal doesn’t have a single tournament on home turf-Malaysia on the other hand get 2-ACC Premier Trophy and ACC U-16 Premier Trophy.

Nepal is also set to compete in U-19 and U-16 ACC Premier Tournaments-both tournaments with slightly different temas from the Senior Premiere Tournament. (Afghanistan, HK are excluded from the premier division in U-16 Tournaments. HK is also excluded from the U-19 Premier Trophy. These teams take part in ACC’s Challenge Tournamets)

ACC has listed only single women tournament for 2013(excluding the Incheon Asian Games) the ACC Women’s Premiere League which starts in 10 days in Thailand.

ACC Event

ACC Women’s Premiere Trophy(40 over a side)

Venue- Chiang Mai, Thailand
Dates- 11th – 18th February 2014
Teams- Thailand, China, Nepal, Hong Kong, Bhutan, Iran

ACC Premiere Trophy(50 over a side)

Venue- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Dates- 4th-10th May 2014
Teams- Nepal, UAE, Afghanistan, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Oman

ACC U-16 Premier Trophy

Venue- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Dates- 17th – 25th August 2014
Teams- Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Thailand, Singapore, Bahrain

Incheon Asian Games

Venue- Incheon, South Korea – Yeonhui Cricket Ground
Dates- September 19th – October 4th 2014

ACC U-19 Premier Trophy

Venue- Kuwait
Dates- 7th – 15th November 2014
Teams- Afghanistan, Nepal, UAE, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait

ACC Championships

Venue- UAE
Dates- 7th – 14th December 2014
Teams- The four top teams from Premier Trophy 2014