APF Club lifts 2012 National T20 title

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Armed Police Force (APF) Club lifted the title of the National Twenty20 Cricket Tournament defeating Region Number 6 Baitadi by 95 runs in the final played today at Tribhuwan University Cricket Ground, Kirtipur.

Remaining unbeaten throughout the tournament, APF won the T20 title first time since it’s participation last year. In the first T20 national level tournament they played last year, they were defeated by Nepal Police Club in the finals which do not participate at the moment.

Winning the toss, APF opted to bat first and scored a good total of 167 losing 5 wickets. Baitadi had a perfect start which everyone was in wait for after Paresh Lohani was dismissed for null in the very third ball of the inning.

Subash Khakurel and Gyanendra Malla boosted up the inning and laid the foundation to 71 for 2. Khakurel got bowled for 21 runs. Man of the match Malla scored 69 runs off 59 deliveries with seven fours and a six and he also shared a partnership of 68 runs with skipper Paras Khadka. Khadka was later caught by Naresh Budhayer for 53 runs off Chandra Sawad. He hit three fours and four sixes. Sharad Vesawkar also added 20 runs with one four and equal six.

Sawad and Shiva Raj Sawar claimed two wickets each while Prem Budal took one for Baitadi.

In reply, Baitadi lost all of their wickets for just 72 runs in 14.4 overs. Sanjam Regmi took four wickets, Shakti Gauchan grabbed three, Sunam Gautam claimed one, and Basanta Regmi got one as Baitadi were restricted to their lowest total. Binod Bhandari and Naresh Budhayer scored 24 and 23 runs each while Prem Tamang with the score of 11 was the only other to score in a double digit figure.

Rahuk Kumar Vishwakarma from Region Number 8 Pokhara was adjudged the best bowler of the tournament while the best batsman and the player of the tournament award went to Subash Khakurel from the winners team. Vishwakarma took 11 wickets from 4 matches maintaining the economy of 6.25. Khakurel had scored 274 runs off 6 matches with the strike rate of 157.35 and average being 91.33. Emerging player of the tournament was awarded to Binod Lama from Baitadi. Lama claimed nine wickets from five matches with an average of 9.56 economy of 5.06.

Subash Khakurel received prize of Rs. 15,000 for player of the series and Rs. 10,000 for best batsman along with trophy. Rahul Vishwakarma also received Rs. 10,000 and trophy.

Winning the title, APF won the cash prize of Rs. 125,000 and trophy. Runners up Baitadi were awarded with cash prize of Rs. 75,000 and trophy.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -