APF Maintains legacy; Birjung Follows Them To Final

    Latest news

    - Advertisement -
    - Advertisement -

    Armed Police Force (APF), maintained their legacy in domestic cricket defeating Biratnagar by 35 runs in the semi finals of the One Day National Cricket Tournament 2070 in a match played at the Pulchowk ground today.

    Sanjay Shrestha lead APF who were without their supreme players with a fine knock of 70 runs off 68 balls to help APF post 258/9. Veteran opener Paresh Lohani contributed 43 runs whereas Bhuwan Karki scored 36 runs for APF. Raj Kumar Pradhan was the pick of the bowler for Biratnagar with a figure of 4/41 in 10 overs. Siddhant LOhani and Captain Puspha Thapa grabbed two wickets each whereas another veteran Mehaboob Alam wh0 returned to pace bowling after a long time picked a wicket.

    In reply, Biratnagar who were riding on a good form till now without any loss in the group stage were bundled out for 223 runs in 46.4 overs. U-19 opener Amrit Shrestha scored 70 runs off 83 runs for Biratnagar but didn’t found found any support from another end which eventually lead them to loss. However, it was a disciplined bowling attack from APF  with Bhuwan Karki picking 3/23 from 10 overs and Sanjam regmi 3/30 from 8.4 overs. Karki was later adjudged Man of the Match for his all-round performance.

    Ram Naresh Giri continued his fine form in this tournament with another tight spell of  3/30 but it was his fellow teammate Hasim Ansari who was the hero of the match as his 70 0ff just 68 balls helped Birjung chase a target of 211 runs given by Bhairahawa in 46.4 overs.

    Bhairahawa decision to bat first  came worst as they were bundled out for 210 runs in 48.4 overs. Antim Thapa scored a slow 56 runs off 110 balls and Shanker Rana remained unbeaten on 32 runs to help Bhairahawa post a respectable total. Apart from Naresh U-19 all-rounder Aarif Sheikh grabbed 3 wickets and Hasim Ansari picked up two.

    Small contributions form Suraj Kurmi 36, Sumit Shrestha 27 and Aarif 25 helped Birjung achieve the total in 44.4 overs. Lal BAhadur Adhakari picked 3 wickets for Bhairahawa. Ansari who scored 70 runs and picked 2 wicktes as well was the Man of the Match.

    - Advertisement -

    Related news

    - Advertisement -