Army Club wins the opening match of Prime Minister Cup 2021

A well-carved unbeaten hundred from Binod Bhandari helped Tribhuvan Army Club to register their victory against Gandaki province in the opening match of the Prime Minister Cup One Day Men’s National Cricket Tournament at Kirtipur-based TU cricket ground, Kirtipur.

Elected into bat first after winning the toss, Tribhuvan Army Club made 287 runs in 50 overs at the loss of six wickets.

Opening batsman Raju Rijal was dismissed for 45 runs off 71 balls with one six and four boundaries. Likewise, Hari Krishna Jha made 14 runs for 48 balls with a four and Rohit Poudel 10 runs. Binod Bhandari came at the crease when TAC were four down for 111 at the half-way mark. He made an unbeaten 111 runs off 76 balls with 9 fours and 5 sixes. Rajesh Pulami Magar and Lokesh Bam at the middle-order scored 38 and 42 runs respectively.

Rajesh Pulami hit 4 sixes in his innings from 52 balls.

Bishal Paudel and Bipin Khatri took two wickets apiece for Gandaki Province.

In reply, Gandaki Province were bowled out for 189 in 48 overs. Sameer Kandel put up a fight with his marathon fifty from 95 balls including five boundaries. Skipper Bipin Khatri remained 37 not out off 25 balls.

All eyes were on 15-year-old Arjun Kumal, who came as an opener for Gandaki and he did not disappoint. Before he got dismissed, he made a well compiled 36 runs off 54 balls with 6 fours.

Rajesh Pulami Magar was the pick of the bowlers for Army Club, as he rattled Gandaki’s batting card with five-fer. Magar took 9 overs, 2 maidens and gave just 25 runs for his five-wickets. Bhim Sharki grabbed three wickets (3/26) at the other end.


The tournament that will run until 30 January has been participated by seven provinces and three departmental teams. The participating teams are Provinces 1 and 2, Bagmati Province, Gandaki Province, Lumbini Province, Karnali Province, Sudurpaschim Province, Tribhuvan Army Club, Nepal APF Club and Nepal Police Club.

Tribhuvan Army Club, Nepal APF Club, Gandaki Province, Province 1 and Karnali Province are placed in Group ‘A’ and Nepal Police Club, Bagmati Province, Lumbini Province, Province 2 and Sudurpaschim Province in Group ‘B’.

Top winning teams from both groups will make it to the semi-finals. The venue for the finals is TU International Cricket Ground. The match has been organised by the Cricket Association of Nepal with the financial assistance of the National Sports Council.


Match scorecard click here

Nischal Tiwari
Nischal Tiwari
Nischal Tiwari is the Editor of He writes cricketing stories and news, based in Oklahoma, US, and tweets at @ni5chaltiwari.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -