Baskota wins youth player of the year award; Tamata named the best coach

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Nepal U-19 skipper Prithu Baskota and coach Jagat Tamata won the youth player of the year and the coach of the year award respectively during the Pulsar Sports Award 2068 organized by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum in the capital on Wednesday.

Member of Nepal APF Club and skipper of Nepal U-19, Baskota took 9 wickets and scored 155 runs during the ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifiers where Nepal finished second. Baskota took three wickets in a last over in an exciting finish against Kuwait during the ACC Twenty20 Cup held in Kathmandu last year which let Nepal to the semi finals. He had also scored 83 runs and taken two wickets in the ICC World T20 Qualifiers. He was also a member of the Nepal APF Club, which won the National One-Day Tournament and clinched gold in the Sixth National Games.

Likewise, Nepali U-19 cricket team coach Jagat Tamata was adjudged coach of the year. Tamata, who guided Nepal to second position in the ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifiers, is only the second Nepali coach to guide Nepali youth team to the world cup.

Winner Baskota and Tamata received the winner´s trophy and Rs 30,000 each. They were also awarded with a Samsung camera, Dish Home smart box and a carpet from New Horizon carpet Pvt Ltd each.

Shakti Gauchan finished third with 24,186 votes in the Popular Player of the Year award. Volleyball player Ramila Tandukar won the Popular Player of the Year award, which was decided through SMS voting. Tandukar received 44,245 of the total 123,652 votes. Her nearest rival, national football team forward Bharat Khawas got 38,958 votes.

Others nominated from Cricket were Paras Khadka for Player of the Year Male Rubina Chhetri for Youth Player of the Year, coach Pubudu Dassanayake and Nabin Singh for Coach of the Year.