Biratnagar Super Kings to face Janakpur Royals in the second qualifier

Latest news

- Advertisement -
Topics mentioned in this article
- Advertisement -

Kathmandu Knights have been knocked out of the inaugural edition of the Nepal T20 League. Biratnagar Super Kings thrashed them by 99 runs in the eliminator match at TU Cricket Ground. Knights took the field with all Nepali players as none of the foreign players was available.

Opting to bat first, Biratnagar piled up 182/6 in the allotted 20 overs after a late firework from Bibek Yadav. Super Kings had a disastrous start after losing both openers within the second over. Rohit Paudel then added 98 runs for the third wicket with Hussain Talat (38). Paudel completed his third fifty in the fourth match and made 61 runs with six fours and two biggies. In the end, Bibek Yadav smacked 18-ball 46 with three fours and sixes each.

Kamal Airee and Anil Kharel grabbed a couple of wickets for Kathmandu. Avinash Bohara and Gautam KC also picked up one wicket apiece.

In reply, the Knights were wrapped up for 83 in 12.4 overs. Surya Tamang was the villain for the Knights, sending back four players. Shahab Alam and Keon Joseph also picked up a couple of wickets each.

Rohit Paudel grabbed the fourth POTM award of the tournament.

No.11 batter Avinash Bohara scored the highest 16 runs for the Knights. Gyanendra Malla and Lokesh Bam also scored 15 and 13 runs, respectively.

Super Kings will now face Janakpur Royals in the second qualifier. Royals lost against Lumbini All-Stars in the first qualifiers on Sunday.

Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -