Buddhi Pradhan Retained in Associate and Affiliate Panel of Umpires

    Latest news

    - Advertisement -
    - Advertisement -

    Kathmandu – Nepal’s Buddhi Bahadur Pradhan has been retained as one of the 14 umpires in ICC Associate and Affiliate Panel of Umpires. The panel for 2013, named by the Associate and Affiliate Selection Committee, consists of  Sameer Bandekar, Mark Hawthorne, Wynand Louw, David Odhiambo, Buddhi Pradhan, Sarika Siva Prasad, Richard Smith, Ian Ramage, Courtney Young, Kathy Young and Nigel Morrison. Kathy Young with the inclusion became the first female umpire in ICC Umpires’ Panel.

    The umpires on the ICC Associate and Affiliate Panel of International Umpires can be assigned to ODI and T20I matches involving Associate and Affiliate Members, ICC Intercontinental Cup matches, Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Divisions 3 to 6 and other Associate and Affiliate tournaments, as well as ICC Development Events.

    Buddhi Pradhan is the lone representative from Nepal. The 38 year old has stood has officiated 20 One Day Internationals, &T20 Internationals  and eight first-class matches,all involving the associate nations. Pradhan stood in his first One Day International as early as 2006 when he officiated the match between Kenya and Bermuda. Pradhan was only thirty then.

    New Zealands Kathy Young becomes to first Female Umpire in ICC Umpires’ Panel
    Kathy Young fro New Zealand with the inclusion also became the first  the first female umpire to be inducted in an ICC Umpires’ Panel.

    The 56-year-old Cross was born in Taumarunui, King Country, and is now eligible for appointments to ICC World Cricket League Divisions 3 to 6, in addition to women’s cricket.

    Cross has previously officiated in the ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia in 2009 and in India in 2013, as well as the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2011 in Bangladesh and the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013 in Ireland.  She is a member of the New Zealand Cricket Reserve Panel 2013-14, and was thrilled with her induction into the panel.

    “Being the first woman on the panel is a great honour and I look forward to the opportunities this selection will afford me, and to working with the Associate and Affiliate panel.”  said Kathy Young who was delighted after he appointment.

    Nigel Morrison is the other addition to the Umpires Panel who replaced Shahul Hameed from Indonesia. Morrison has stood in

    Morrison has previously officiated in ICC World Cricket League Division 8 in Samoa in 2012 and ICC World Cricket League Division 7 in Botswana in 2013.

    ICC Associate and Affiliate Panel of International Umpires 2014
    ICC Region Umpire Country
    Africa Wynand Louw Namibia
    Africa David Odhiambo Kenya
    Americas Sameer Bandekar USA
    Americas Courtney Young Cayman Islands
    East-Asia Pacific Nigel Morrison Vanuatu
    East-Asia Pacific Kathy Cross New Zealand
    Asia Buddhi Pradhan Nepal
    Asia Sarika Siva Prasad Singapore
    Europe Ian Ramage Scotland
    Europe Mark Hawthorne Ireland
    Europe Richard Smith Ireland


    - Advertisement -

    Related news

    - Advertisement -