Nepal Men, News

CAN announce the preliminary squad for ACC Premier Cup

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the preliminary squad for the ACC Premier Cup that starts on April 18. The tournament which will be held in Nepal is the gateway to the Asia Cup as the winner will book a spot in the upcoming edition.

ACC has already announced the schedule and fixtures for the tournament set to be played in Nepal from April 18 to May 1, 2023.

The hosts Nepal have been placed in Group ‘A’ with Oman, Qatar, Malaysia, and Saudi Arabia. Meanwhile, Group ‘B’ will consist of United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore, and Bahrain. The matches will be held at TU International Cricket Ground and Mulpani Cricket Ground.

The tournament will commence on April 18, with Nepal taking on Malaysia at TU Cricket Ground. The home side will play a single game at Mulpani Cricket Ground against Saudi Arabia.

The winning team of the tournament will join India and Pakistan in Group A of the Asia Cup 2023, which will take place in September. Furthermore, the top three teams of the Premier Cup will also get the opportunity to feature in the ACC Emerging Cup in July.

Nepal’s Preliminary Squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Aarif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Surya Tamang, Shyam Dhakal (Mousam), Kamal Singh Airee, Pratish GC, Dev Khanal, Kishore Mahato, Arjun Saud, Sundeep Jora