International, National, Nepal U16

CAN announces squad for ACC U-16 Elite Cup

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Cricket Association of Nepal(CAN) on wednesday announced the final squad of the U-16 national team that is to participate in the upcoming ACC U-16 Elite Cup slated to be held from May 4 in Malaysia.

CAN axed five players from the nineteen member squad who were in the close camp while the four of them have been kept as reserve.

Dipendra Chand who appeared in the first edition(2010) as well will lead the team. Other members in the team include Aadil Khan, Rupesh Bastola, Kalicharan Yadav, Sashibhusan Mishra, Mukund Yadav, Nurdhwoj Sen, Jagdish Chand, Alfaz Mansuri, Aakash Bista, Rabin Gupta, Anup Neupane, Aasif Sheikh and Kushal Bhurtel.

Nitesh Thakur, Lokesh Jha, Ajay Sahani and Heman Rai are placed as reserves.

Nepal has been placed in group B alongside Malaysia, Bahrain, Kuwait and Iran in group B while Group A comprises the defending champion Singapore, Hong Kong, Oman and Thailand. According to the fixture released by Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Nepal will take on Kuwait in the first match of the tournament on May 4 at Bayuemas Ground.

Runners up of the first edition, Nepal will play against Bahrain on May 6 at Kinrara, take on Iran on May 8 at Bayuemas and will face Malaysia on May 9 at Kinrara ground. The matches will be of 40 overs.