International, Nepal Women

CAN announces squad for ACC Women’s Trophy

Kathmandu/Jan 22 Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced the name of  final 14 players along with four reserves for the upcoming ACC Women’s Premier Trophy to be held from 11 to 19 February 2014 at Thailand.

Rubina Chhetri retains her captaincy whereas Mamata Thapa has been declared as her deputy. The others players are Trishna Singh, Karuna Bhandari, Kajal Shrestha, Mamata Chaudhary, Sobha Ale, Rekha Rawal, Sonu Khadka, Sita Rana Magar, Neera Rajopadhyaya, Sarita Magar, Kabita Gautam and Saraswoti Chaudhary.

Jyoti Pandey of APF and Anjali Chand of Region no 6 Baitadi who scored centuries in the recently concluded  women’s senior missed out on final 14. They are kept in reserves along with Rashmi Sharma and Janaki Bhatta.

The 40 over a side competition played  in league format will witness 15 matches played at two venues-Terdthai Cricket Ground and Asian Institute of Technology, Bangkok..Nepali will play the first match against Iran on February 11. They will take on  Thailand on 13, Bhutan on 14, China on 16 and Hong Kong on 17 which concludes the league fixtures.