CAN picks up 15-man squad for T20 Qualifers

    Latest news

    - Advertisement -
    - Advertisement -

    Kathmandu- The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has picked up a 15-man squad for the ICC Word Cup T20 Qualifiers 2015 to be held in Ireland and Scotland from July 3 to July 26. The same squad will also participate in the Nepal-Netherlands T20 International Series which starts from 30th of June. Nepal team is currently in Dhaarmasala, India for the preparation of the qualifiers.

    Siddhant Lohani, a young and aggressive batsman from Biratnagar makes it to the final 15, beating the likes of Mehaboob Alam and Prithu Baskota, both of whom has been selected as reserve players. Left-arm pacer Avinash Karna, and spinner Bhuwan Karki are also in the reserve list.

    Another face in the team is Rajesh Pulami also gets into the team and he will be playing a major tournament for the first time after making his debut with the team against Hong Kong in Sir Lanka.

    Pradeep Airee and Anil Mandal makes a comeback to the team after quiet long time, with the latter showing some spectacular performance in the domestic competition this year.

    Paras Khadka will again lead the team, with Gyanendra Malla named as his deputy. Other team members include Shakti Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Binod Bhandari, Subash Khakurel, Sharad Veswakar, Sagar Pun, and Jitendra Mukhiya.

    The acting president, Dipak Koirala will lead the team management along with Chhumbi Lama. Ramam Siwakoti has taken the role of technical analyst. Binod Das will remain the bowling coach while Pubudu Dassanayeke will be the head coach of the team.

    CAN has made a smart move by appointing Monty Desai, IPL franchise Rajastan Royal’s assistant coach, as the batting coach of the team. Desai is a close friend of head coach Pubudu Dassanayeke. Another Indian, Ezaj Asai will cover the duty of Physio.

    - Advertisement -

    Related news

    - Advertisement -