Fans support Amrit and Chandra

Nepal Sports Foundation and Nepalese Cricket Fans donated a sum of rupees equivalent to 500$ to the national cricket players Amrit Bhattarai and Chandra Sawad who are to start their club career in Sri-lanka amidst a press function held in Royal Singh Hotel, Durbarmarg on Sunday.

The campaign was launched from facebook and with the overwhelming response from fans inside and outside the country, the organizers were able to collect more than half a lakhs and still counting. “We are getting more and more support from people living outside the country. And certainly it’s very positive towards the development of Nepali Cricket” said Surya Thapaliya. Thapaliya is the president of Nepal Sports Foundation and a great enthusiast of Nepali Cricket.

National cricket coach and the both the players were very happy with the response from the fans. “Coach Dassanayake is also trying to manage the spot for Binod Bhandari. So the surplus remaining will be used for Binod” said Birat Raya, the organizer of the event. The program will run for a month and the money collected will be used for incurring the expenses of Nepali Cricket players for their stay.

Chandra and Amrit are leaving for Sri-lanka tomorrow evening and will start the league matches from Friday for Sri Lanka Ports Authority Cricket Club(SLPACC). The SLPACC has arranged the accomodation of the players while the players have to manage themselves the air fares and the fooding expenses. Their ticket fare was sponsored by Goldengate college.

Here is the list of the contributors:
Keshav Yadav(USA) = 300 Dollars
Sanjib Khadka(UAE) = 20,000 rupees
Bikash Purja(UK) = 8,800 rupees
Shantosh Panth, Kumar Dahal, Madan poudel(Israel) = 14,750 rupees
Ajay bhandari = 3,000 rupees
Binu Khadka(UAE) = 2,424 rupees
Kamal Khadka(Balaju) = 2,000 rupees
Bijay Sharma(Kathmandu) = 1,500 rupees
Kumar Mani Thapaliya(Thamel) = 1,000 rupees
Nischal Tiwari(Cricnepal) = 1,000 rupees
Nishan Tamang (Kathmandu) = 600 rupees
Bikram Rai Nepali(Kathmandu) = 500 rupees
Santosh Mishra = 300 rupees
Rahul Pandey = 150 rupees