ICC World Cup

How the teams qualified for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in history will feature more teams and matches than ever before.

For the first time, 20 nations will compete for world glory in the United States and the West Indies, across 55 matches over four weeks of thrilling action.

Here’s a refresher on how the teams qualified for the tournament:

The Hosts
West Indies and the USA earned automatic entry as host nations, with the USA set to make their tournament debut.

Two-time winners West Indies will host the competition for the second time, having previously staged the 2010 event where England defeated Australia in the final. The Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, will again host this year’s final.

Top Eight from 2022
The top eight teams from the last ICC Men’s T20 World Cup secured automatic qualification for the tournament’s ninth edition.

In Australia, England claimed their second title as Ben Stokes led his side to victory with the bat, and Player of the Tournament Sam Curran helped restrict runners-up Pakistan to 137 in the final.

Beaten semi-finalists India and New Zealand also secured entry for 2024. India aims to build on their 50-over triumph last year, while the Black Caps hope to win the T20 title for the first time.

Teams finishing third and fourth in the Super 12 groups also qualified: former winners Australia and Sri Lanka, two-time semi-finalists South Africa, and the Netherlands, who achieved their best T20 World Cup finish last time.

Team Rankings
Afghanistan and Bangladesh qualified based on their status as the next two highest-ranked teams in T20I rankings.

Bangladesh nearly pulled off some shock victories last time and hopes to build on that, while players like Rashid Khan and Qais Ahmad will use their experience in the US franchise tournament, Major League Cricket, to boost Afghanistan’s performance.

The Qualifiers
The remaining eight spots were determined by regional qualifiers, with Ireland and Scotland emerging from the European section.

Scotland hosted the regional finals in July 2023, advancing unbeaten through the group stages, joined by Ireland thanks to a crucial seven-run victory over Italy.

In the East Asia-Pacific qualifiers, Papua New Guinea also advanced with a perfect run to reach their second T20 World Cup.

Canada emerged from the Americas qualifier, narrowly beating Bermuda on net run rate to reach the main event for the first time.

Nepal and Oman qualified from Asia, defeating UAE and Bahrain respectively in the semifinals before Oman claimed the thrilling final after a Super Over.

Uganda secured the final spot in the 20-team line-up, achieving their first-ever T20I win over a full-member team, Zimbabwe, to reach their first T20 World Cup.

Namibia also qualified from the Africa Qualifier, having previously played in the 2021 and 2022 editions.