Janakpur Crashes out of Group Stage

Kathmandu-Janakpur have been knocked out from the Group stages of U-19 national tournament after their second consecutive loss int the tournament-losing this time to Region No. 4 Bhairahawa.  Janakpur had lost it previous match to Kathmandu(R3).

Bhairahawa 157/4(29 overs defeat Janakpur 153/10(44.2 overs) SCORECARD

Janakpur are at the bottom of Group A points table no wins from two matches. Pokhara, Kathmandu both are both on 3 points with 1 win and 1 loss.

With both Janakpur and Bhairahawa coming off upsetting loss in their previous match this was practically a knock out match for both teams. Winning the toss and batting first Janakpur folded for 153 runs. Bhairahawa in reply put up the most clinical batting performance- of the tournament chasing-thanks to 77 runs from man of the match Sandeep Sunar the target in 29 overs losing just 3 wickets.

Sunar added 83 runs for the second wicket with Shankar Rana(37) in 16 overs as the duo quickly took the match away from Janakpur. Having lost their 3rd wicket for 115, Bhairahawa lost their  4th just 4 runs later and it seemed they might collapse like the other teams, but Saurav Khanal with unbeaten 14 runs added the final 34 runs with Sunar at nearly 6 runs an over to give Bhairahawa a convincing win.

This is only the third occasion a score of 150 had been chased in this tournament (Kathmandu, Baitadi and Nepalgunj have defended a score below 150 in the tournament.

Earlier after making a good start and adding 50 runs for just 1 wicket Janakpur lost its way in the the middle. Samshad Seikh top scored for Janakpur with unbeaten 28 runs. Seikh added 39 for the 9th wicket with Sushant Mandal(17) to take Janankpur past 150 for the first time in the tournament.

Ek Lakh Ahmed, Saheb Alam and Rahul Bhattarai each picked up 2 wickets for Bhairhawa.

Tomorrow’s fixture between Bhairhawa and Kathmandu and Pokhara and Janakpur will decide which two of the three teams will make it to the semis from Group A.

In the other match played today Dhangadi(R9) defeated Birgunj(R2) by 5 wickets. Player of the match Arjun Chapagain bagged 4 wickets for Dhangadi as Birgunj folded for 112 runs. Asif Seikh top scored for Birgunj with 46 runs. Dhangadi got the target in 29. 4 overs thanks to 45 unbeaten runs form Raju Rijal.

Dhangadi 113/5(29.4 overs) defeated Birgunj 112/10(41.2 overs)

Irsad Ahammad picked 2 wickets for Birgunj.

Both Birgunj and Dhangadi have already been knocked out of the group stage. Biratngar and Baitadi qualified for the semis from Group B.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -