Jhapa and Udaypur Win

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Jhapa and Udaypur won their respective matches of Purbanchal RegionalCricket Cricket Tournament being held in Biratnagar.

Jhapa vs. Illam

Jhapa beat Illam by 106 runs in the match played at Degree Campus Ground. Batting first Jhapa posted 186 runs losing 7 wickets in 25 overs. Sunny Pun top scored for Jhapa with 37 run, Santosh Baral and Arjun Dahal contributed with 30 and 25 respectively. Murali Chaudhary grabbed three wickets for Illam. Chasing, Illam were knocked over for 80 runs, player of the match Amit Dahal hugely responsible for the batting collapse picking up 4 vital wickets. Suresh guragain picked three wickets.

Udaypur vs. Sunsari

In the other match played martyr’s ground Udaypur defeated Sunsari by 25 runs. Batting first Sunsari could only get to 80 runs before losing all the wickets in the 20th over. Sangam Dahal made 24 runs for Udaypur. Kailadh Dahal and Sadab Akthar picked up three wickets each to restrict Udaypur to a low score. Udaypur got to the target in the 20th over losing 5 wickets. Sadhab Akthar topscored with 14 runs for Udaypur, and was later adjudeged player of the match for his all round Performance. Irfan Khan grabbed two wickets for Sunsari

Meanwhile region No. 1, Biratnagar Cricket Development Committee announced 19 membered  team for two national tournaments to be held in Kathmandu, staring this 11th Decemeber. Selection committee lead by Regional member Manoj Katuwal, picked the players based on their performance in Purbanchal Regional Cricket Tournament.

Region No.1 Team will be lead by Manjit Shrestha. The other members included for National One day tournaments are- Rajkumar Pradhan, Ajay rajbansi, Somesh Yadav, Puspha Thapa, Manoj Mandal, maheboob Alam, Kamal Kishor, Suresh Guragain, BIdhan Gowswami.

Niraj Thakur, Dhiraj Budathoki, Kalicharan Yadav, Santosh Baral, Sangam Dahal have been selected for the T20 tournament that will start from  13 th December.