National, Nepal U19

Kathmandu claim Under 19 National Tournament

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Region Number 3 Kathmandu claimed the title of the Wai Wai Under 19 National Cricket Tournament after defeating Region Number 2 Birgunj by a big 86 runs today here at Pulchowk Engineering Ground.

Player of the match Prakash Bista(B) grabbed crucial six wickets as Birgunj were all out for a mere 92 runs. Som Pal Kami and Navin Kumar Yadav claimed three and a wicket each for Kathmandu. Anil Sah(54) remained the only batsman with double figure while the remaining had only few runs on board for Birgunj. Sah hit seven boundaries and a maximum.

Earlier, winning the toss and batting first Kathmandu made an achievable score of 178 for 10 in 46.3 overs. Skipper Bhibhatshu once again palyed an captain innings with 52 runs off 89 balls and shared a partnership of 81 runs with Pawan Shrestha(24). Kathmandu’s inning got collapsed in a while as they lost Thapa at team score of 127 and Som Pal Kami(1), Shrestha and Sharad Khadka(0) at 128. Purushottam Jha, Arjun Adhikari and Navin Kumar Yadav contributed 19, 12 and 13 runs respectively for the winners.

Ram Naresh Giri snatched four wickets, Ashib Poudel took three, Irshad Ahamad claimed one while Suraj Prasad Kurmi got one wicket for Birgunj.

Winners Kathmandu were awarded 25000 cash prize while the runners up claimed 15000. Man of the series Lalit Singh Bhandari from Kanchanpur was awarded Rs. 10000. Best batsman Sunil Dhamala(Kanchanpur) , best bowler Abhishek Jha(Janakpur) and man of the final Prakash Bista(B) were given 5000 each.

Prizes were distributed by Yuvraj Lama (Member Secretory of National Sports Counsil), Shree Niwas Rana (Vice Precident of CAN), Lal Babu Sah (AGM CG), Surendra Khanal (Senior Marketing Manager CG), Ashok Nath Pyakurel (General Secretory Can), Diwakar Ghale (Member of CAN), Kiran Rana (Member of CAN) and Amit BIr Pandey (Member of CAN).

The players selected from the national tournament will undergo closed camp for U-19 Asia Cup that will begin from 28th of December in UAE. Nepal has been placed alongside India, Pakistan and the host UAE.