Lamichhane, Rajbanshi, Tamang to line up for Nepal Spin-attack in upcoming tri-series at home

Lalit Rajbanshi

Sandip Lamichhane has been included in Nepal’s ODI squad for the upcoming triangular series under the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2.

The Cricket Association of Nepal confirmed on Thursday after announcing a 14-member squad under Rohit Paudel’s captaincy.

Sompal Kami, Karan KC, and Gulshan Jha are the three quicks in the squad. The other pacer – Kamal Singh Airee and Kishor Mahato missed out on the final squad.

With spin favourable conditions, the selection committee brought in Surya Tamang, a slow left-arm orthodox bowler. Tamang, who recently featured in Nepal T20 League for Biratnagar Super Kings was the pick of bowlers, grabbing 12 wickets from 8 matches.

Nepal will take three spinners for the series against Namibia and Scotland in Kathmandu. Lalit Rajbanshi and Sandeep Lamichhane will lead the spin attack whereas Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee and Captain Rohit Paudel will guard the batting line-up.

Allrounders Kushal Malla, Sundeep Jora and Bhim Sharki are also getting the nod.

Sandeep Lamichhane is currently out on bail, accused of raping a 17-year-old minor. CAN recently lift his suspension and granted permission to play cricket inside Nepal. He was straightly roped into the squad without any match practice.

Aarif Sheikh, Pratish GC, Mausam Dhakal and Arjun Saud are retained in the squad as reserves.