Lumbini All-Stars book a place in the playoff

Latest news

- Advertisement -
Topics mentioned in this article
- Advertisement -

Lumbini All-Stars has booked a place in the playoff of Nepal T20 League after a narrow win against Biratnagar Super Kings. Lumbini defended a tiny total of 122 to register their sixth win of the tournament. Biratnagar were wrapped up for 110 in 19.3 overs.

Super Kings had a comfortable start adding 42 runs from the powerplay losing just one wicket. However, the spinners rigid bowling leading to a quick wicket helped Lumbini stay in the contest. Lumbini were in the driving seat after sending back Arjun Saud for a sluggish 41 in the 16th over.

Biratnagar needed 41 runs from the last three overs when Bivek Yadav smashed few boundaries however that was not enough. Eventually, they fell 12 runs short after van Schalkwyk picked up a couple of wickets in the last over.

Tilak Bhandari, Shadley van Schalkwyk and Harry Tector grabbed a couple of wickets for Lumbini.

Earlier, Lumbini All-Stars were settled for a small total of 122. Skipper Dipendra Singh Airee scored a half-century to help Lumbini surpass a triple-digit score after a disastrous start.

Opting to bat didn’t really work for Lumbini, as they lost a couple of early wickets. Nandan Yadav dismissed both openers in the second over. None of the batters could do any special after the horrendous start. Bhurtel walked back in the fifth over, followed by Harry Tector and Yogendra Singh Karki.

Dipendra Singh Airee anchored the inning and helped his side post a respectful total. He scored 17 runs from the last over and completed his first fifty of the tournament. He scored six boundaries from 42 balls.

Youngsters Surya Tamang (4-0-8-2), Nandan Yadav and Bibek Yadav picked up two wickets each for Biratnagar. Keon Joseph and Raj Nannan also pocketed one wicket each. 

Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -