Mongolia, Tajikstan and Switzerland become new ICC members

    Latest news

    - Advertisement -
    - Advertisement -

    The International Cricket Council (ICC) welcomed its newest Member countries, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Switzerland at the ICC’s 78th Annual General Meeting on Sunday.

    The meeting, which was conducted virtually, welcomed Mongolia and Tajikistan as the 22nd and 23rd Members of the Asia region, whilst Switzerland is Europe’s 35th Member, with the ICC now comprising 106 Members in total, including 94 Associates.

    The Mongolian Cricket Association (MCA) which was established in 2007 became the official national administrator of the sport in 2018.

    Women’s cricket is a priority for Mongolia with females accounting for 39% of all participants playing school cricket. In addition, Mongolia is due to host the International Youth Green Games in September 2021 where cricket has been selected as one of the participating sports.

    Likewise, Cricket was first played in Switzerland in 1817 and Cricket Switzerland (CS) was inaugurated as an association in 2014. Over the past seven years, CS has led the unification of the sport following the expulsion of the Swiss Cricket Association in 2012.

    The Tajikistan Cricket Federation was officially formed in 2011 with the support of the Ministry of Sports and Olympic Committee that has led the development of infrastructure and the building of a domestic cricket structure focusing on women and junior cricket.

    - Advertisement -

    Related news

    - Advertisement -