Nepal announces 14-member squads for 2019 ICC Women’s Qualifier Asia

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Kathmandu – The selectors on Friday announced 14-member women squads for the ICC Women’s Qualifier Asia 2019 tournament to be held in Thailand from February 16-27.

Nepal women’s national cricket team will be led by Rubina Chhetry Belbashi. Sita Rana Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Sarita Magar, Nery Thapa, Indu Barma, Sonu Khadka, Aarati Bidari, Kajal Shrestha, Roma Thapa, Kabita Kunwar, Mamta Kumari Chaudhary and Bindu Rawal are part of the squad.

Apsari Begum will be the new face in the squad as she replaced Dolly Bhatta.

Likewise, Ritu Kumari Kanujiya, Suman Bist, Anjali Chand and Dolly Bhatta will travel as reserve players.

Nepal will play most of their matches at the familiar conditions and the opposition, as they played them in the last month’s Women’s T20 Smash.

The seven-nation Asia region qualifier tournament takes place at Asian Institute of Technology Ground and the Terdthai Cricket Ground.

Nepal Women will play the first match against Malaysia on February 19 and the second match against the host after two days. Similarly, they play against UAE and against Hong Kong on February 22 and 24 respectively.

The fifth match is against China on February 25 and they will end the tournament against Kuwait on February 27.

All the matches in the tournament will be played as Women’s Twenty20 Internationals (WT20Is), with the top two teams progressing to the 2019 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Global Qualifier.

Nepal Women’s Cricket Team will travel to Thailand on February 16. Coach Binod Das will accompany by the manager Amrita Paudel, assistant coach Neera Rajopadhyay and Sakuna Dani, the physio.

Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -