Nepal T20 League to commence from December 12

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Nepal T20 League, Nepal’s official franchise league is set to commence on December 12th.  The inaugural edition of Nepal T20 was scheduled to begin on September 24, later postponed regarding security concerns.

The decision was taken as per the directives of the Ministry of Home Affairs. The advisory was received regarding the security arrangements for elections in the middle of the Nepal T20 league. The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) believes such a large contingent of overseas players featuring in the tournament requires extensive security and safety arrangements.

International Cricket Council (ICC) has also sanctioned the new starting date, with the finals to be played on 31st December. Six teams, Kathamdu Gurkhas, Lumbini All-Stars, Janakpur Royals, Far-Western United, Pokhara Avengers, and Biratnagar Super Kings, will compete for the maiden title of Nepal T20. The league will be played in a round-robin format, with each team meeting others in the home and away matches; however, all the games will be played at TU Cricket Ground.

Nepal T20 League overseas players
Famous international players to feature in maiden Nepal T20 League.

67 domestic and 32 foreign players were signed from the two-day draft held on September 10th and 11th in Kathmandu. Veteran Australian pacer Brett Lee was announced as the mentor of the tournamentSimilarly, Some big international names like Mohammad Hafeez, Angelo Mathews, Carlos Brathwaite, Adam Lyth, Thisara Perera, and Ben Cutting are all set to feature in the maiden Nepal T20.

Watch: Full squad of the teams



Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -