Paras Khadka’s Asia Lions clinch Legends League Cricket title


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Asia Lions has clinched the title of the third edition of Legends League Cricket. Shahid Afridi led team Asia defeated World Giants by seven wickets in the final at West End Park International Cricket Stadium, Doha, on Monday.

Shane Watson’s World Giants posted 147 for 4 in the allotted 20 overs after opting to bat first. Despite a sluggish start, Giants posted a fighting total after Jacques Kallis’ 54-ball 78.

In reply, Asia chased the total in 16.1 overs, losing just three wickets. The Sri Lankan Duo Upul Tharanga (57) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (58) added 115 runs within ten overs, with both scoring a half-century. Mohammad Hafeez finished things by scoring a boundary against Ricardo Powell.

Abdur Razzak was adjudged as player of the final, while Upul Tharanga was awarded player of the tournament. 

Meanwhile, Paras Khadka became the first ever Nepali player to feature in the tournament. However, he didn’t get many things to do. Paras’ performance by games:

First match vs India Maharajas: 3(2)* and one catch.

Second match vs World Giants: Didn’t bat or bowl.

Third Match vs India Maharajas: Benched

Fourth Match vs World Giants: 8(10)

Fifth Match vs India Maharajas (Eliminator): Didn’t bat or bowl.

Sixth Match vs World Giants (Final): Didn’t bat or bowl.

Legends League Cricket is a Global League with former Cricketers playing competitive cricket. World Giants, Asian Lions, and India Maharajas battled for the trophy in the first edition in Oman, where Darren Sammy led World Giants clinched the trophy. The second edition was held in India in September 2022 and featured private-franchise-owned teams across six major cities. The second edition of the league had been dedicated to India’s 75th Independence celebrations.

After bidding adieu to International cricket, Paras had not played any competitive cricket since representing Bagmati Province in Kathmandu Mayors Cup 2021. The 34 years old has played 10 ODIs and 33 T20Is for Nepal before announcing a retirement on 3 August 2021.


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -