Nepal Men

West Indies A lead the series 2-1 after a dominant win

The Nepalese national cricket team has suffered a big defeat against West Indies A in the third match of the series. With a 76-run win on Wednesday at TU Cricket Ground West Indies A now leads the five-match T20 series 2-1.

Chasing a mammoth target of 228, Nepal could only score 151 runs before being bowled out in 19.2 overs.

None of the Nepalese batters managed to make a significant impact in the match. Binod Bhandari, the first batter to fall, scored 19 runs. Anil Sah was dismissed quickly for just 14, and Aarif contributed only three runs. Lokesh Bam’s slow 28-run innings ended soon after. Kushal Malla displayed some aggression but it was short-lived, as he scored 20 off 11 balls before getting out.

Gulshan Jha was dismissed for just six runs, while Bibek Yadav and DS Airee were run out, scoring three and seven, respectively, leaving Nepal in a dismal position at 119/8. Kamal Airee added six runs to the total, and Karan KC, with a 17-ball 28, was the last batter to be dismissed. Sagar Dhakal remained unbeaten, scoring three runs.

Hayden Walsh was the pick of a bowler for the Windies side. He grabbed three wickets and ended with a figure of 4-0-28-3.

Earlier, West Indies A posted 227/3 at the end of the allotted 20 overs after opting to bat first. Johnson Charles was the star, scoring a fabulous century.

May be an image of 6 people and text

West Indies A lost Alick Athanaze in the form of a run out for 17 in the fourth over. Johnson Charles and Andre Fletcher then drove the Windies A inning very well and shared 145 runs for the second wicket. Fletcher was dismissed for 53 by Sagar Dhakal in the 15th over. He hammered four boundaries and three sixes in a 33-ball knock.

Charles, who opened the inning, kept the momentum going and reached his century in just 55 balls by the 17th over. He remained not out with a total of 119 runs from 61 balls, which included 13 fours and seven sixes.

Fabian Allen playing his first game, notched up nine-ball 19 whereas Keemo Paul scored an unbeaten 13 runs.

Six bowlers were introduced but only two bowlers were able to pick a wicket for Nepal. Sagar Dhakal (4-0-41-1) and Karan KC (4-0-54-1) were among the wickets. Gulshan Jha did a great job conceding just 24 runs from his four overs. KS Airee was expensive giving away 53 runs.

Nepal made four changes in the playing XI. Rohit Paudel was rested and DS Airee captained the side.