ZSM launches Wai Wai Everest Premier League

Kathmandu – Zohra Sports Management (ZSM) on Friday announced franchise-based Everest Premier League (EPL) Twenty20 Cricket series in Nepal that will take place from 24th September till 3rd October 2016.

वाइ वाइ एभरेष्ट प्रिमियर लिग क्रिकेट असोज ८ देखि

The Twenty20 tournament is the updated version of Nepal Premier League(NPL) and comprises of the same six corporate team – Panchakanya Tez , Colors X Factors, Vishal Group Warriors, Kantipur Gurkhas, Jagdamba Rhinos and Sagarmatha Legends.

CG Foods is the title sponsorship for the 2016 edition of the tournament. EPL will be played in T20 format in Round Robin League and each team plays minimum five matches.

“We have allocated around Rs 5.4 million just as match fees for the entire Wai Wai EPL this year. This is undoubtedly the highest match fees being paid in Nepali cricket domestically so far”, ZSM MD Aamir Akhtar said.

“Nepal Cricket team is on rise and is in need of more cricket to be played inside Nepal to rise further. Wai Wai EPL offers various purposes in player’s growth, earning decent match fees, promoting cricket to the next level and many more. I would like to thank the sponsors, players and all team owners of the team in materialising this concept”, he further added.

Team Owner Captain
Tej Panchakanya Group Sharad Vesawkar
Colors X Factors Teletalk Pvt Ltd Gyanendra Malla
Vishal Group Warriors Vishal Group Parash Khadka
Kantipur Gurkhas Kantipur Publications Basanta Regmi
Jagdamba Rhinos Shankar Group Shakti Gauchan
Sagarmatha Legends Ghorahi Cement Binod Bhandari

“The objective of the Wai Wai EPL is to elevate cricketing standard in Nepal and the tournament is set to introduce young talents in the leadership of experienced national players and Wai Wai is committed to put all its support in harnessing the full potential of cricket in Nepal.”, Nirvana Chaudhary, CG Group said.

“EPL looks to set a benchmark for domestic cricket in Nepal. We need these kind of tournaments regularly so that our players get the right exposure. Looking forward to be a part of this cricketing extravaganza” Paras Khadka – National Cricket Team skipper said.

The match fees for players has been set at NRs. 20,000 per match to the Captain of each team, NRs.15000 to the national players who has played minimum 15 International match, NRs. 12,000 to U19 World Cup players, NRs. 8000 to regional cricketers.


The first edition (50 over) of NPL was successfully organised in Dhangadi in June 2014 but the T20 edition was cancelled due to the dispute between ZSM and Cricket Association of Nepal. Different talks were held, time and again and several dates were announced in 2014 and 2015 but the organiser had to give a full-stop.

The 2016 edition of tournament has a new brand but scheduled at the critical stage where the cricket governing body is currently suspended. Without CAN, it will be interesting to see the approval process for the participation of the national players in EPL.

Meanwhile, the press conference held today had few eye-raising questions. The organiser didn’t announce the prize money for the winners, player of the match and the series. ZSM also failed to announce the final squad of each team although its upto the franchise team to decide. The venue has not been fixed and they are still in talk with Unions at Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -