International, National

22 Players Called in Closed Camp for ACC Emerging Teams Cup

Cricnepal/Kathmandu – Cricket Association of Nepal(CAN) named 22 players for the closed camp of ACC Emerging Teams Cup to be held in Singapore from 17 to 25 August.

Mahesh Chhetri and Binod Das are included in the 22 player’s list while 3 fast bowlers from the ACC U19 Cup – Avinash Karn, Yagyaman Kumal, and Ramnaresh Giri are also included in the 22. However the team excludes Bhuwan Karki who lead Nepal in the ACC U19 Cup. No batsmen have been picked from the U19 Squad.

Yagyaman Kumal and Ramnaresh Giri are regulars in the preliminary squad but haven’t however played for the senior side. Giri was picked as a reserve player in ACC T20 Cup held last month.

All 14 members of  Nepal’s Division III squad  – Paras Khadka, Subash Khakurel, Sharad Veswarkar, Gyanendra Malla,Shakti Gauchan,  Amrit Bhattarai, Prithu Baskota, Sanjam Regmi, Basanta Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee, Chandra Sawad,Anil Mandal  and Rahul Viswakarma have been selected.

Like wise Jitendra Mukhiya and Sagar Pun who were reserve players along with Ramnaresh Giri also make it to the list. Naresh Budayer who is training at Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) London makes it to the 22 but Rajesh who is training with him is excluded.

The closed camp will start 10th of July. Nepal is also set to fly to Sri Lanka for the preparation of ACC Emerging Nations Cup before the tournament. Nepal will face Afghanistan in its first match on 17th August.