National, Nepal Men

CAN announces 22 players for Closed Camp

Kathmandu – Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced a preliminary squad of 22 players for the closed-camp training of upcoming ICC events in July 2015.

Nepali Cricket team is scheduled to play ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers from July 3-26 in Ireland and Scotland. Likewise, they will play two List A matches of ICC World Cricket League Championship against Scotland on July 29 and 31.

The 22 member squad comprises Paras Khadka (C), Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar, Basant Regmi, Subash Khakurel (WK), Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Shakti Gauchan, Sagar Pun, Binod Bhandari, Bhuvan Karki, Pradeep Airee, Jitendra Mukhiya, Prithu Baskota, Anil Kumar Mandal, Siddhant Lohani, Mahaboob Alam, Rajesh Pulami Magar, Avinash Karn, Mahesh Kumar Chhetri, Hari Shankar Sah and Saurabh Khanal.

Anil Mandal and Mahesh Chhetri have earned their place after their solid performance in the Senior National Cricket tournament earlier this year. Chhetri scored 384 runs at an average of 54.86 while Mandal scored 429 runs in the tournament at an average of 61.29. Meanwhile, Avinash Karn, Jitendra Mukhiya and Prithu Baskota are also back in the squad after the injury.

Similarly, Nepal Under 19 and Region 1 all-rounder Siddhant Lohani is picked after his good form with the bat during the Senior national tournament. The right-handed batsman scored 150 runs at 37.50 and picked 7 wickets.

CAN has decided to send the team to India for the closed-camp training on first week of June.