International, Nepal Men

ICC WCL Div.2 hopes to produce more success stories

ICC World Cricket League Division 2 Namibia 2015

The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 starts in Namibia this week and it gives the opportunity for teams to advance along the pathway to the ICC Cricket World Cup.

This will be the third WCL Division 2 to be staged and the second to be hosted in Namibia and many teams have had some great success stories on their way to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier and ODI status. In 2007, Argentina, Denmark, Namibia, Oman, Uganda and United Arab Emirates all participated in the tournament in Namibia.

The 2007 event featured some close-fought matches and an exciting final in which the winners United Arab Emirates defeated Oman by 67 runs. United Arab Emirates have gone on from strength to strength gaining ODI status until 2018 after being finalists at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in 2014, missing out narrowly to Scotland and will now feature in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

United Arab Emirates played hosts to the WCL Division 2 in 2011 with array of teams on show including Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Uganda and Bermuda. United Arab Emirates defeated Namibia in the final by 1 wicket promoting both teams to the ICC World Cricket League Championship 2011-2013 and ICC Intercontinental Cup 2011-2013.

As a result of strong performances in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in 2014, Hong Kong finishing third and Papua New Guinea finishing fourth both gained ODI status until 2018.

Following the recent decision of the ICC to “break the glass ceiling” and allow AMs the opportunity to play Test cricket, the WCL is now an important part of this process as it provides a pathway into the ICC’s four-day Intercontinental Cup. In addition, WCL Division 2 can enable the top teams to progress to the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship 2015-17.


17 Jan – Namibia v Kenya (Wanderers), Netherlands v Canada (United), Uganda v Nepal (Wanderers Affies)
18 Jan – Namibia v Uganda (Wanderers), Nepal v Netherlands (United), Kenya v Canada (Wanderers Affies)
19 Jan – Rest/reserve day
20 Jan – Nepal v Canada (Wanderers), Kenya v Uganda (United), Namibia v Netherlands (Wanderers Affies)
21 Jan – Kenya v Netherlands (Wanderers), Namibia v Nepal (United), Canada v Uganda (Wanderers Affies)
22 Jan – Rest/reserve day
23 Jan – Netherlands v Uganda (Wanderers), Namibia v Canada (United), Nepal v Kenya (Wanderers Affies)
24 Jan – Final (Wanderers), 3rd v 4th play-off (United), 5th v 6th play-off (Wanderers Affies)