Mumbai Indians win the first ever Women’s IPL

Mumbai Indians Women have emerged victorious in the inaugural Women’s IPL, beating Delhi Capitals Women in the final by three wickets with three balls to spare. Nat Sciver Brunt was the star for Mumbai Indians, scoring an impressive 60 runs to help her team chase down the target of 132.

Delhi Capitals Women won the toss and elected to bat first. However, they struggled to find their rhythm, posting a modest total of 131/9 in their allotted 20 overs. Meg Lanning was the top scorer for Delhi, contributing 35 runs to the team’s total. Radha Yadav and Shikha Pandey also made valuable contributions at the end, adding 27 runs each to the score.

Hayley Mathews was the star bowler picking up three wickets from four overs, conceding just five (bowled two maidens). Issy Wong also bagged three wickets.

Nat Sciver-Brunt plays one fine, Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, final, Brabourne, Women's Premier League, March 26, 2023

In reply, Mumbai Indians got off to a shaky start, losing early wickets in the chase. However, Brunt held her nerve and played a match-winning knock to lead her team to victory. Mumbai Indians reached the target in the final over, with Brunt hitting the winning runs to secure the first Women’s IPL title for her team.

The final was a thrilling contest, with both teams displaying great skill and determination. However, it was Mumbai Indians who emerged as the winners on the day, thanks to a brilliant performance from Nat Sciver Brunt.