Nepal U19 Women

Nepal eye a spot on the inaugural ICC Women’s U-19 World Cup

Nepalese women's u-19 team|Shristi Jaisi

Nepali Women’s U-19 Cricket team are off to Malaysia for the ICC Women’s U-19 World Cup Asian Region Selection.

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) bid adieu to the team on Tuesday organizing a farewell program in the presence of CAN President Chatur Bahadur Chand and Acting Secretary Prashant Bikram Malla.

The head coach of the team, Mahesh Rijal, said that they have been preparing and doing the training for a month with the available resources.

“We have been preparing for a month now. Our preparation is complete and hopefully, we will be selected for the World Cup, claiming the top position in the selection,” said coach Rijal.

Similarly, Nepalese U19 Women’s Captain Kritika Marasini said that the team believed in her as the captain and she also added that the team will give their 100 percent to be in the World Cup.

The tournament will commence on June 3 which includes Nepal, UAE, Qatar, Malaysia, Thailand, and Bhutan after China and Myanmar decided not to take part. The team finishing on top of the table will book the ticket to the Inaugural Women’s u-19 world cup to be held in South Africa in January 2023.

The first-ever tournament will be played in the T20 format. The competition was originally set for January 2021, but owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was pushed back to December 2021. In January 2021, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) confirmed that they would host the tournament in December, however, the tournament was postponed for a second time and was pushed further to January 2023.

Nepali U-19 Women’s Team: Kritika Marasini (Captain), Sneha Mahara (Vice-captain), Shrishti Jaisi, Manisha Upadhyaya, Manisha Ranamagar, Alisha Yadav, (wicketkeeper), Sana Pravin, Ranju Shrestha (wicketkeeper), Ashma Pulami Magar, Sanu Rajbanshi, Kiran Kunwar, Anjali Bishwakarma, Anu Kadayat, and Susmita Bhushal.

Nepal U19 Women’s fixture:
(June 3) – Qatar vs Nepal
(June 4) – UAE vs Nepal
(June 6) – Bhutan vs Nepal
(June 7) – Thailand vs Nepal
(June 9) – Malaysia vs Nepal

Feature Image Credit – CAN