Netherlands and Namibia qualify for T20 World Cup

Netherlands and Namibia joined Papua New Guinea and Ireland to qualify for ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup in Australia next year.

Netherlands v UAE

Netherlands booked their place at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup with a convincing eight-wicket victory over hosts the UAE thanks to some excellent bowling from Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover and Timm van der Gugten.

It’s the third time the Netherlands have qualified for the T20 World Cup after featuring in Bangladesh in 2014 and India in 2016.

After opting to bat first, UAE were 9 for 5 at one stage and were unable to recover and were 80 for 9 at the end of their 20 overs.

In reply, the Netherlands raced to victory with five overs to spare and losing just two wickets on the way. Ben Cooper top scored for the Netherlands with 41 not out.

Namibia v Oman

Namibia joined PNG, Ireland and the Netherlands in booking their place at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia next year after a 54-run victory over Oman.

Batting first, Namibia posted a solid 161 for 7 with crucial 59 from JJ Smit and 45 from Greg Williams, which were the key to the innings, while Bilal Khan was outstanding with the ball, taking 4 for 19.

At 58-1, Oman were in a good position, with opener Khawar Ali rotating the strike well.

But when he was stumped, the Oman collapse was swift.

Three wickets each for Bernard Scholtz and Gerhard Erasmus did the bulk of the damage, leaving Oman 107 all out.

Scores Summary

Netherlands beat UAE by eight wickets, Dubai International Cricket Stadium

UAE 80- 9, 20 overs (Ahmed Raza 22, Waheed Ahmed 19, Brandon Glover 4-12, Tim van der Gugten 2-10, Paul ven Meekeren 2-13)
Netherlands 81-2, 15.1 overs (Ben Cooper 41 not out, Colin Ackermann 11 not out, Zahoor 1-12, Rohan Mustafa 1-19)

Namibia beat Oman by 54 runs, Dubai International Cricket Stadium
Namibia 161-7, 20 overs (Johannes Jonathan Smit 59, Craig Williams 45, Bilal Khan 4-19, Aqib Ilyas 1-9)
Oman 107 all out, 19.1 overs (Khawar Ali 41, Aqib Ilyas 18, Bernard Scholtz 3-14, Gerhard Erasmus 3-19)

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -