APF Clinches One Day Title

Departmental side Armed Police Force(APF) defended the title of the Pepsi Standard Chartered National One Day Cricket Tournament as it defeated Region Number 4 Bhairahwa by six wickets today at Tribhuwan University Ground, Kirtipur.

Winning the toss, APF invited Bhairahawa to bat first. With a brilliant century from Fajlur Rahman Khan, Bhairahawa put up the total of 221 runs. Khan hit 124 off 155 balls with twelve fours and four sixes, the highest ever in the national tournament finals. Subash Pradhan 28, Lal Bahadur Adhikari 14, Antim Thapa 13, Sagar Pun 12 and Krishna Karki 11 were some of the players to score a double digit figure. Sharad Vesawkar claimed three wickets for APF while Amrit Bhattarai, Sunam Gautam, Basant Regmi, Shakti Gauchan and Sanjam Regmi took a wicket each.

In reply, APF made a firing start with the first wicket partnership of 60 runs just in 8 overs. Paresh Lohani was the first to be dismissed with 25 runs. Khakurel entering as opening batsman scored 60 runs off 73 balls with seven fours and a six before being caught off Moinuddin Khan. Gyanendra Malla scored 23 off 22 balls. It was Paras Khadka and Sharad Vesawkar finishing with win for APF, Khadka hit 86 off 57 deliveries with ten fours and three sixes while Vesawkar scored 29 off 26 with two fours and a six. Both remained unbeaten. Sushan Bhari took two wickets while Moinuddin Khan and Bibek Chaudhary claimed a wicket each for Bhairahawa.

Fajlur Rahman Khan was adjudged the player of the match. Khan was also announced as the emerging player of the tournament.

APF last year had won the finals beating another departmental side Nepal Police Club. Winner APF won a prize  of Rs 1,50,000 along with the trophy while runner-up Bhairahawa bagged away Rs 1,00,000.

Sagar Pun from Bhairahawa received Rs 20,000 being adjudged the player of the-series. Pun had scored 275 runs in the six matches and also claimed six wickets in the tournament.

Amit Shrestha of Birgunj who scored 248 runs from three matches was awarded as the best batsman of the tournament and received Rs. 15,000. While, APF´s Basant Regmi was adjudged the best bowler of the tournament. Regmi took 12 wickets from four matches and received Rs 15,000.

Mr. Barsa Man Pun (Honorable Minister for Finance), Mr. Yuvaraj Lama (Member Sercretary, National Sports Council), Mr. Durja Kumar Rai (AIG, Armed Police Force), Mr. Sriniwas Rana (Vice President of CAN), Mr. Keshav Ghimire (Vice President of CAN), Mr. Ashok Nath Pyakuryal (General Secretary of CAN), Mr. Uttam Karmacharya (Secretary of CAN), Mr. Thakur Pahadi (Secretary of CAN), Mr. Diwakar Poudel (Acting CEO of Std. Chtd. Bank), Mr. Rohit Kohli (Unit Chief, Barun Beverage) gave away the prizes to the winners.


cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -