Nepal announces squad and schedule for Kenya tour

Latest news

- Advertisement -
Topics mentioned in this article
- Advertisement -

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the national cricket team squad to tour Kenya, CAN also unveil the schedule of the fixtures.

Former captain Gyanendra Malla is back in the team while Kushal Bhurtel misses out. Far Western’s Wicket-keeper batsman, Arjun Saud is included in the team for the very first time. Moreover, young allrounder Bibek Yadav has made a comeback to the team whereas Basir Ahamad has firmed his spot.

Nepal will be playing five T20 Internationals and three One Day matches, regular captain Sandeep Lamichhane will lead the side in T20Is whereas Rohit Paudel is set to captain the team in 50-overs matches.

Skipper Lamichhane will miss out on the 50-over matches due to the commitment to the Carrabian Premier League (CPL), which is commencing on 31st August. The Leggie will be playing for Jamaica Tallawahs.

CAN also appoint former Indian all-rounder, Manoj Prabhakar as Nepal national cricket team’s head coach on Monday replacing Pubudu Dassanayake.

The two highest ranked sides (after the participants are fixed) will get a seat in the T20 World Cup 2024, hence the tour is very important for Nepal as it will affect in team’s ranking. The ranking will be valid till 2022 November 14.

Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -