Nepal APF clinch Women’s National Title for record 4th time

    Latest news

    - Advertisement -
    - Advertisement -

    Kathmandu- Nepal Armed Police Force clinched the title of Women’s National 2015 for the fourth successive time defeating R-7 (Janakpur) by seven wickets in the finals played at TU Ground, Kirtipur on Saturday.

    Nepal APF 100/3, 24.1 Overs: Anuradha Chaudhary 2/23) defeated R-7 (Janakpur) 98/10, 40 Overs: Anuradha Chaudhary 20, Neera Rajopadhyaya 5/20) by seven wickets.

    Nepal’s veteran Neera Rajopadhyaya took a five-for for Nepal APF as Janakpur were restricted for just 98 runs playing allotted 40 overs. It took her six overs to take the five-for for 20 runs which earned her the man of the match award as well. Anuradha Chaudhary top scored for Janakpur with 28 runs off 85 balls while Mamta Chaudhary scored 20 runs off 32 balls with 3 boundaries. Rubina Chhetri took two wickets for Nepal APF.

    Nepal APF chased the target with ease in 24.1 over losing 3 wickets only. This is the 4th consecutive time Nepal APF team had won the competition after its formation in 2011. Winners APF were awarded NRs 50,000 while runner-ups Janakpur bagged NRs 30,000 along with trophy and medals.

    Meanwhile, Sanju Chaudhary from R-5(Nepalgunj) was declared the Player of the tournament. She scored 154 of 157 balls in 4 matches with an average of 38.50 and Shanti Chaudhary from the R-7(Janakpur) received the best bowler award. She took 12 wickets in 4 matches with an average of 12.00. Likewise, Sangeeta Rai from R-1 (Biratnagar) grabbed the best batswoman and emerging player award. Rai scored 165 runs and took 9 wickets in the tournament.

    (Edited by Nischal Tiwari)

    - Advertisement -

    Related news

    - Advertisement -