Sandeep Lamichhane signed as Marquee player in UAE’s ILT20

Sandeep Lamichhane

Nepal national cricket team’s captain Sandeep Lamichhane has been signed as a Marquee player for the inaugural edition of International League T20 (ILT20). UAE’s cricketing board Emirates Cricket Board announced 50 participating players on Monday.

Although the board has announced the participating players, the details of the team are yet to be revealed. Along with Sandeep Lamichhane, players from other associate nations and Test nations are contracted. 

Dawid Malan, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis, Colin Munro, Fabian Allen, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Dushmantha Chameera, Akeal Hosein, Tom Banton, Sandeep Lamichhane, Rovman Powell, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Andre Russell, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Alex Hales, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Jordan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Chris are the players to be contracted.

Sandeep Lamichhane
Sandeep Lamichhane

The statement named 33 more international cricketers who have signed on: Lahiru Kumara, Seekugge Prasanna, Charith Asalanka, Isuru Udana, and Niroshan Dickwella (from Sri Lanka); Kennar Lewis, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Dominic Drakes and Sherfane Rutherford (from West Indies); Hazratullah Zazai, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmed, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Naveen-ul-Haq (from Afghanistan); Dan Lawrence, Jamie Overton, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, James Vince, Saqib Mahmood, Ben Duckett and Benny Howell (from England); Blessing Muzarabani and Sikandar Raza (from Zimbabwe); Brandon Glover and Frederick Klaasen (from the Netherlands); David Wiese and Ruben Trumpelmann (from Namibia); Colin Ingram (from South Africa); George Munsey (Scotland); Paul Stirling (Ireland); and Ali Khan (USA).

Each squad of 18 will have two players from Associate countries and four players from the UAE, but the process to pick them will start after more international signings are announced by the league later this week.

Six teams will be battling for the title of the maiden season of ILT20. The franchises in the league are owned by Reliance Industries, Kolkata Knight Riders, Capri Global, GMR, Lancer Capital, and Adani Sportsline.