UAE set a target of 311 in Nepal’s must win match

UAE has set a target of 311 runs against Nepal in the closing encounter of CWC League 2. The home side conceded 102 runs from the last six overs and let the UAE batters smash 19 sixes in a total of 310/6. Nepal must chase this total to ensure their spot in World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe.

Opting to bat first at TU Cricket Ground, Muhammad Waseem yielded a quick-fire start after the dismissal of Aryan Lakra (6) in the third over. Waseem smacked biggies all over the park, disappointing the full house crowd present at the stadium. He managed 49-ball 63 runs, hammering six maximums.

CP Rizwan (7) and Aayan Khan (3) were also dismissed cheaply as Nepal were back on track after bringing them down to 128/4 in the 27th over.

Vriitya Aravind, the number three batter, brought up his fifty in 87 balls with four boundaries and a six. Aravind anchored the inning whilst the real damage came from the other end. The 135 runs partnership for the sixth wicket between him and Asif Khan did the damage during the death overs.

End of 45 overs, Asif Khan was batting at 22 runs off 22 balls at one stage. He completely changed the tempo hammering 11 sixes, bringing his maiden ton in just 41 balls, the fourth-fastest in the history of Men’s ODI cricket.

Nepal were in control until 44 overs restricting UAE to 208 for 5 but 102 runs were scored in the last six overs to put up a mammoth total. The UAE’s innings also brought the first 300+ score at TU Cricket Ground.

UAE’s Innings breakdown:

  • PowerPlay 1: Overs 0.1 – 10.0 (Mandatory – 61 Runs, 1 Wicket), Extra 8
  • PowerPlay 2: Overs 10.1 – 40.0 (Mandatory – 128 Runs, 4 Wickets), Extra 4
  • PowerPlay 3: Overs 40.1 – 50.0 (Mandatory – 121 Runs, 1 Wicket), Extra 4

Khan remained unbeaten on 101 (42 balls). Meanwhile, Arvind was dismissed for 94 runs in the last ball of the innings.

Nepal conceded 121 runs in the last powerplay.

Nepal’s death bowling in this match:

  • 50.0 – Sompal Kami – 12 runs
  • 49.0 ov – Sandeep Lamichhane – 26 runs
  • 48.0 ov – Gulshan Jha – 17 runs
  • 47.0 ov – Sompal Kami – 20 runs
  • 46.0 ov – Gulshan Jha – 14 runs
  • 45.0 ov – Sandeep Lamichhane – 13 runs

Dipendra Singh Airee picked up two wickets. Lalit Rajbanshi and Sandeep Lamichhane also pocketed one each.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -