Tirahut Tigers clinch Saptari Premier League title

Tirahut Tigers have won the title of Saptari Premier League (SPL) season six. Tirahut defeated Chinnamasta Lions by 31 runs in the low-scoring final to lift the trophy.

Tirahut were bowled out for 91 runs in 18.4 overs after electing to bat first. They were 55/6 before Bhola Shah scored 29 runs. Basir Ahamad and Rupesh Singh added 17 and 10 runs respectively while other batters failed to cross a double digit score.

For Chinnamasta, Bishal  Patel, Firdosh Ansari, Gunanand Ray and Sumit Newar pocketed two wickets each.

In reply, star-studded batting side, Chinnamasta were wrapped up for a mere 60 runs in 14 overs. Dipesh Kandel picked up four wickets for Tirahut whilst captain Anil Yadav bowled a fiery spell in the powerplay to grab three wickets. Basir Ahamad took two while Abishek Karki got one.

Bishal Patel was the top scorer with 14 runs. Firdosh Ansari stayed at 13* but didn’t get any support from the other batters. Bhim Sharki was dismissed for a golden duck.

Winner Tirahut Tigers were awarded NRS Three Lakhs (300000) whereas runner-up Chinnamasta Lions received NRS One Lakh Fifty thousand (150000).

Runner up – Chinnamasta Lions
Player of the series – Basir Ahamad

Basir Ahamad was adjudged Player of the tournament whereas Bishal Patel and Shub Kansakar were awarded best bowler and best batter respectively. Md Sohail Khan was acknowledged as the tournament’s emerging player.

Basir received 25 thousand NRS while Bishal and Shub got 15 thousand each. Sohail also received the kit bag worth 15 thousand.

Six teams competed in a round-robin format and then playoffs took place. The tournament was played at PB School Cricket Ground, Rajbiraj.