National, Nepal U19

Abhishek Jha Gives Janakpur Second Straight Victory


Janakpur 141/10 in 47.2 overs ( Abhishek 42 R Baskota 3/18) beat  Bhairahawa 128/10  in 33.2 overs(B Sunar 24, Abhishek Jha 6/24)

Region Number 8 Janakpur registered second victory in as many days defeating Region no.7 Bhairahawa by 13 runs in a low scoring encounter, thanks to an all round performance by Abishek Jha. Jha scored 42 of 141 runs for Janakpur and bagged 6 wickets in 9.2 overs as Bhairahawa folded for just 128. Janakpur had defeated Pokhara by 1 wicket in the opening match of the Wai Wai U19 national tournament yesterday.

Batting first Janakpur opened with Hari Shankar Shah and Sanjeet Pandey,and the pair added 25. Hari Shankar Shah was the first to fall for 20 of 19 balls to D Somare. The second wicket fell on the same score, Saurav Nagbansi missing a straight one from Somare and adjudged lbw. Janakpur kept losing constant wicket, and were 6 down for 74. Abishek Jha and Sameer Nepal then added valueable 39 runs for 7th wicket. Nepal made 12 of 32 balls.R Bastola picked up 3 wicekts for Bhairahawa but M Bahadur Thapa, who got just one wicket was most hard to get away amongst the Bhairhawa bowlers who bowled as many as 6 maiden over. Thapapicked up important wicket of Sanjeet Pandey.

Abishek batted sensibly with the tail as the last 3 wickets added 38 runs in tough conditions. The last wicket alone added 19.These last wickets runs were what made took game away from Bhairahawa.
Chasing small total Bhairahawa seemed to be heading towards a confortable win with 3-91. Abishek Jha turned the game from there getting rid of set B Sunar for 24.Before that Sunar and PKC had added 43 runs for the 4th wicket. Bhairahawa then kept losing wickets to Abishek Jha as they folded for 128 in 33.2 overs. Abhishek ended with 6 wickets from his nine overs giving away just 24 runs.

Region No 5 (Nepalgunj) vs Region No 9 (Kanchanpur)

Kanchanpur 147/7 in 38 overs (Sunil Dhamala 38, Siddhant Shahi 3/20) beat Nepalgunj 144/10 in 37.3 overs ( Amar Singh Rautela 44, Deependra Airee 3/35)

In the other match played today at Pulchow Engineering Cricket Ground Kanchanpur defeated Region Number 5 Nepalgunj by 3 wickets. Batting first Nepalgunj managed only 144 runs before getiing all out in 38th over. Amar Singh Rautela top scored with 44 and Bhupendra Thapa made 39. Prawjal Shahi made 21. None of the other batsman crossed double figures for Nepalgunj and there were as many as three ducks(Shishir Thapa, Akash Bista and Bhupendra Rola) in the scorecard. Lalit Bhandari and Deependra Airee starred with the ball with 3 wickets each. Yagyaman Kumal bowled 4 overs for 18 runs.

Chasing 145 looked tough for Kanchanpur. Akash Bista captain of Nepalgunj who was adjudged the best bowler of natioanl T20 Tournament and Shiddhant Shahi were at there miserable best. Bista and Shahi bowled 20 overs for 44 runs taking 5 Kanchanpur wickets.

Sunil Dhamala who opened the inning for Kanchanpur top scored with very steady 38 of 74 balls.Raju Rijal who made 32 of 50 balls held the at number 6 and Deependra Airee who made unbeaten 17 of 24 balls at number 8 took Kanchanpur to victory with 12 overs to spare.