International, National

Afghanistan defeat Nepal to become the ACC U19 Elite Cup Champions

Afghanistan have won the ACC U19 Elite Cup 2011 beating Nepal by 61 runs in the final. Nepal U19 were allout for 139 in 43.1 overs.

During the chase, Nepali Openers were never settled against the bowling lineup of Afghanistan. Wicket started tumbling from the start of the inning. Fazlur Khan departed on 0, Subash Khakurel could score just 6 runs.

On 10th over of the inning, Nepal had already lost its 4 top wicket and were on backfoot. Pradeep Airee had a good day with the ball taking 5 wicket and came at the crease to show some batting talent. He began his inning steadily and took the team total to 100 for 4 together with Rajesh Pulami. They had a partnership of 76 runs for the fifth wicket before Rajesh was runout. Then it all started with that wicket. Nepal went on to loose its 3 wickets in the span of 2 overs.

Pradeep Airee was only the hope for Nepal as he got his half century from 80 balls with 3 fours & 1 six. He has also set a record of only the second Nepali batsman to score 50 runs and 5 wickets in the same match.

Wickets kept on falling at the other end they decided to take the batting powerplay on 37th over and ‎78 to get in 13 overs. Huge expectation and support were there till Pradeep and Bhuwan Karki were at the crease but all went in vain. The powerplay proved to be on wrong period as both batsmen were out. Pradeep was caught at long off on 57 off 93 balls and Bhuwan was runout. Nepal could only score 13 runs in their powerplay.

Nepal lost it all wicket at 43.1 overs and the Afghanistan were delighted to be the winner of ACC Elite Cup 2011 by 61 runs.

For Afghanistan, N.Zadran took the 3 wickets for 5 runs.

Spirit of Cricket Award: Malaysia
Batsman of the Tournament: Pradeep Airee (Nepal)
Bowler of the Tournament: Rahul Vishvakarma (Nepal)
Player of the Tournament: Tamoor Sajjad (Qatar)

Before, Afghanistan managed to score 200 runs in its 50 overs against Nepal in the final of ACC U19 Elite Cup 2011. Due to overnight dew, the match was delayed for an hour. Afghanistan won the toss and elected to bat first.

Rahul BK was standing Captain for Nepal as Prithu Baskota was given a three weeks rest. Afghan’s inning started with a slow pace. They were 43 without loss at the 14th over before Krishna Karki send the opener back to dressing room. The batsman was stumped.

The second and third wickets fell for 63 and 83 on the board respectively. Rahul BK took the third wicket for Nepal and it was his 21st wicket of the tournament.

The fourth wicket partnership took the score to 100 run and wicket went down soon after it. On 41th over of the inning, they were 142/5 and aiming for a score of 200-220 runs. But Pradeep Airee stood out for Nepal on this match and took 5 wicket restricting Afghanistan to 200/9 in their 50 overs. His bowling figure was 9-0-43-5. Krishna Karki took 2 wicket and Rahul BK and Bhuwan Karki took 1-1 wicket each.

For Afghanistan, N.Haq scored 34 runs and M.Paak remained unbeaten on 36.

– Nischal Tiwari (Writer at