News, PM Cup Women's Tournament

APF advance to Women’s PM Cup final after defeating Koshi Province

Armed Police Force (APF) women have secured a place in the final of the PM Cup Women’s National Tournament 2080. APF defeated Koshi Province women by 52 runs in Qualifier 1 at TU Cricket Ground.

APF topped the table after winning all seven group-stage matches. Meanwhile, Koshi ended in the second position after losing only against APF.

Following a target of 140 runs, Koshi were sloppy in the chase and managed to score only 87/4 after the end of 20 overs. Kajol Shrestha (4) walked back in the first over whereas Rubina Chhetri was dismissed for 22 in the ninth over. Apsari Begam struggled and could score 31 runs after facing 48 balls. Lakita Rajbanshi made just 14 runs from 32 balls.

For APF, Rekha Rawal, Suman Bist, Sita Rana Magar and Sonu Khadka pocketed one wicket each.

Earlier, APF posted a decent total of 139/2 after being invited to bat first. Skipper Sita Rana Magar made quick runs after the departure of Jyoti Pandey (12). Sita scored 37-ball 45 with three fours and two sixes before being run out in the 13th over.

Indu Barma and Roma Thapa then added 58* runs from the remaining seven overs. Indu completed her second fifty of the tournament and remained unbeaten for 50-ball 56 runs. Roma Thapa also contributed 18* runs.

May be an image of 2 people

Koshi’s premium bowlers Sabnam Rai and Sangita Rai were expensive and went wicketless. Rubina Chhetri picked up one wicket for Koshi.

Sudurpaschim women and Bagmati women will face each other in the eliminator. The winner of the match will play against Koshi in the Qualifier 2.