National, Nepal Women, News

APF bags convincing victory over Bagmati Province women in Bilateral Series opener

Indu Barma

Bagmati Province women suffered a huge defeat against Armed Police Force (APF) women in the first match of the Bagmati Women’s Bilateral Series. The star-studded APF Club registered a comfortable 72-run win at Mulpani Cricket Ground.

Bagmati’s several major players were absent in the first match as Kanchan Shrestha led the team. The regular captain, Ashmina Karmacharya, along with Sony Pakhrin and Yashoda Bist, were not in the playing XI

Invited to bat first, APF posted a good total of 135/2 in the allotted 20 overs. The opening pair of Mamta Chaudhary and Sita Rana Magar established an impressive 82-run partnership before Sita’s departure with 30 runs on the board. Mamta Chaudhary contributed 38 runs to the total. It was Indu Barma who boosted APF’s total with a 27-ball 39 runs including four boundaries and one six.

Krishma Gurung (4-0-14-1) and Sabika Kumari Yadav (2-0-16-1) were the wicket-takers for Bagmati.

In response, Bagmati managed to score 63 runs losing eight wickets in front of APF’s formidable bowling attack. Only Kanchan Shrestha managed to achieve a double-digit score, scoring 21 runs from 39 balls. Helisha Gurung and Anisha Majhakoti scored seven runs whereas Khusi Dangol scored 6. Bagmati’s four dismissals occurred due to run-outs.

Indu Barma was the pick of a bowler grabbing a couple of wickets (3-0-6-2). She was adjudged player of the match for her terrific all-round display. Karuna Bhandari and Sita Rana Magar also pocketed one wicket each.

May be an image of 2 people and text
Indu Barma was adjudged POTM for her terrific all-round performance.

The second and third match of the series will be played on 14 and 15th of December at Mulpani Cricket Ground. The Bagmati Province Cricket Association organized a three-match series for their women’s team against APF as part of their preparation leading up to the PM Cup.

Bagmati’s squad was formed based on two tournaments. The selection tournament held at Gautam Buddha Rangashala showcased district teams representing Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, Lalitpur, and Chitwan. Subsequently, Bagmati Red, Green, and Blue teams were established, engaging in a series of matches (Elite Trophy). The squad’s ultimate selection was determined based on performances in these tournaments.