APF, Baitadi and Pokhara into the Semis

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Title favourites APF, Region No. 6 Baitadi and and Region No. 8 Pokhara have reached the knock out rounds of the Pepsi Standard Chartered National T 20 tournament after 4 matches played today. The other semi finalist shall be decided tomorrow as Bhairhawa take on Biratnagar in group A. Both the teams have 4 points each from 3 matches losing only to APF and the winner shall get the remaining semi final spot.

Baitadi vs. Nepalgunj

Region No. 6 Baitadi slammed Region No.5 Nepalgunj by 10 wickets to get to the knock out rounds of the tournament with wins in all three matches. Batting first Nepalgunj could total only 100 as Santosh Bhatt ran through Nepalgunj’s innings with 5 wickets. Binod Lama and Bhuwan Karki picked I two wickets a piece.

Chasing abysmal score of 100 inform Baitadi got to the target in 15th over as openers Saroj Rawal and Binod Bhandari unbeaten 104 runs. Binod top scored with 76 of 54 balls as Saroj gave him a steady support with 20 runs of 56 balls.

Santosh Bhatt was adjudged the player of the match.

Pokhara vs. Janakpur

Region No. 8 Pokhara entered the knock out round of the tournament despite 5 wickets loss to Region No. 7 Janakpur on grounds of better Net Run Rate (NRR) as the head to head result had to be over looked since Pokhara, janakpur and Nepalgunj all had one win in three matches, all losing to Baitadi but winning a game and losing one amongst themselves.

Batting first Pokhara posted 137 runs as Rahul Kumar Viswokarma showed he could do some batting scoring 50 of 34 balls adding 44 runs for third wicket with Dipesh Khatri and 51 runs for the fourth wicket with Amrit Shrestha. Amrit Shrestha made 24 of 20 balls. Anil Mandal got both Rahul and Amrit in the third and fourth ball of 18th over. He grabbed one more wicket taking his wicket tally to 3 as Anil Gurung fell for 9.

Janakpur chased down the target in13 overs as Anil Mandal scored 94 of 54 balls for Janakpur. Rahul Viswakarma picked up three wickets for Pokhara . Mandal was adhudged the player of the match.

Kathmandu vs. Biratnagar

In the other match played today Region No.3 Kathmandu lost to Region. No. 1 Biratnagar by 19 runs and thus have been knocked out of the tournament. Batting first Biratnagar posted 147 runs in the 20 overs. Opener and wicketkeeper batsmen Sunny Pun, wjo later was adjudged the player of the match top scored with 50 while Manoj Shrestha made 43 for Biratnagar. Bijay Gautam picked up three wickets for Kathmandu while Doctor turned Cricketer Dr. Niraj Bhattarai and Captain Prashanna Shakya chipped in with a wicket a piece.

Chasing Kathmandu were restriced for 127 runs despite 52 runs from opener Pramod Basnet.  Kathmandu started well the first wicket adding 43 runs in 8 overs before  Player of the match of the last tournament gell to vetran Mehaboob Alam for 20 runs. Niraj Basnet who captained Kathmandu in the one day National tournament added 17 runs. Alam and Puspa Thapa bagged two wickets for Biratnagar.

Bhairahawa vs. Birgunj

One day finalist Region No.4 Bhairahawa defeated Region No. 2 Birgunj by 29 runs. Batting first with 20s from Subash Pradhan Nischal Chaudhary and Krishna Karki Bhairahawa added 142 runs in the 20 overs. Narayan Patel and Jitendra Mukhiya bagged 3 wickets a piece for Birgunj. Bhairhawa defended the total restricting Birgunj to 113 for 9 in the 20 overs with 3 wickets form player of the match Sushan Bhari and 2 each from Moinuddin Kjan and Bibek Chaudhary.

Tomorrow’s Match:

APF vs. Kathmandu

Bhairahawa vs. Biratnagar