APF clinches the Indian Ambassador’s Cricket Cup title

Kathmandu – Armed Police Force (APF) lifted the title of the first edition of Indian Ambassador’s Cricket Cup after defeating Paschimanchal by 19 runs in an interesting final match played at TU Ground on Wednesday. It is games like this that motivate some people to go to sports management colleges

APF won the toss and elected to bat first and put up a moderate total of 144 runs in loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs. APF lost its first wicket of Dipendra Chaudhary as lbw in the first ball. Subash Khakurel and Sharad Vesawkar then shared a 40 runs partnership for second wicket for APF. Vesawkar who scored 17 runs off 16 balls with two fours later was bowled by Saurab Khanal in the first ball of the seventh over. Khakurel scored 23 runs off 31 balls hitting two fours.

Paras Khadka remained top scorer of the day with 39 runs from 41 balls including five fours. Mahaboob Alam added 21 runs off 16 balls including three fours. Gyanendra Malla added a quick 20 runs off 9 balls and Prithu Baskota remained unbeaten at 7 runs while Basant Regmi was not out at 4.

Krishna Karki and Rahul Kumar Vishawakarma grabbed two wickets each for Paschimanchal while Dipesh Khatri and Saurab Khanal picked up a wicket each.

In reply, a slow start from the Paschimanchal’s openers caused them to face a narrow defeat. Paschimanchal managed to score only 125 runs losing 9 wickets in 20 overs. Openers Subash Pradhan and Fazlur Rehman put up only 33 runs off 8.5 overs before Pradhan was stumped by Subash Khakurel in the bowling of Sanjam Regmi.

Much expected batsman Aakash Gupta went out at the score of just 2 runs. Fazlur Rehman and Sagar Pun put up a partnership of 24 runs for third wicket. Pun was caught in second ball of the 13th over while Rehman was the next victim off the next ball. Pun scored 16 runs off 8 balls hitting a four and a six while Rehman scored 12 runs off 27 balls including a four.

Rahul Kumar Vishawakarma scored 17 runs off 12 balls with hitting two big sixes. Antim Thapa scored 11 runs off 10 balls with a six. Krishna Karki was bowled by Paras Khadka for 10 runs off 6 balls while Saurab Khanal remained unbeaten at 11 runs off 9 balls.

Basanta Regmi and Sanjam Regmi grabbed three wicket each while Paras Khadka took a wicket.

Basanta Regmi was later adjudged as player of the match and was awarded with trophy and cash prize of Rs. 5,000.

Man of the series was awarded Subash Khakurel with trophy and cheque of Rs. 25,000. Khakurel scored 195 runs in three matches played with a century and another 72 runs innings.

Runners up Pachimanchal bagged away the cheque prize of Rs. 100,000 and trophy while the Winning team received Rs. 150,000 and cheque.

Prizes were given by chief guest His Excellency Mr. Jayant Prasad (Indian Ambassador), Mr. Tanka Aangbuhang (President of CAN), Mr. Shailendra Kumar Shrestha (IGP, Armed Police Force), Mr. Jaideep Majumdar (DCM of Embassy of India) and others.