National, Nepal Women, News

APF Club secure fourth consecutive Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup Title

Armed Police Force (APF) Club women have clinched the title of Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup Women’s Tournament 2024. They continued their winning run to clinch the trophy of the fourth edition of the tournament.

APF club are the champion of all four editions of Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup. They are still unbeaten throughout the tournament history with a 20-match winning record.

In the final match held at TU Cricket Ground on Saturday, APF defeated Sudurpaschim Province by two runs in a very thrilling contest. Chasing a target of 156 runs, Sudurpaschim were 49/5 in the seventh having already lost their star batters, Rubi Poddar, Samjhana Khadka and Bindu Rawal. Kabita Joshi and Laxmi Saud then started sharing a partnership to give Sudurpaschim a chance.

Sudurpaschim needed 27 runs from the last two overs when Kabita Joshi smacked three sixes off Rajmati Airee and collected 21 runs from the penultimate over. Only six runs were required from the last over but Rekha Rawal did wonder for APF to win it for her side. Sudurpaschim finished 153/5, losing the game by two runs. Kabita remained unbeaten for 67 whereas Laxmi made 29 runs.

Earlier, APF posted 155/4 on the board after electing to bat first. The openers added 91 runs before Rajmati Airee departed for 50 runs from 46 balls. Sita Rana Magar continued her inning and made 74 runs (55 balls) before being dismissed in the last over. Mamta Chaudhary notched up ten runs whilst Indu Barma made nine runs.

Sita Rana Magar was adjudged as Player of the final match as well as the player of the tournament (142 runs and 4 wickets). Samjhana Khadka was the best batter (156 runs) whereas Kritika Marasini ended up as the best bowler (11 wickets).