National, Nepal Women

APF Club secures a spot in the final, Bagmati Province register their first win 

Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Bagmati Province women registered a win on the fourth day of Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament. With the third consecutive victory, APF booked a place in the final with one match still to play. However, Bagmati bagged a first win and is alive in the race of the final.

Five teams are competing in the fourth edition of Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup. The tournament is being played in a single round-robin format and the top two teams will play in the final.

On Wednesday’s first game, APF club defeated Lalitpur Mayor’s XI by eight wickets. Opting to bat first, Mayor’s XI managed only 73/6 on the board. Puja Mahato top scored with 24 runs whereas Jyotsnika Marasini added 21 runs. For APF, Rekha Rawal and Sita Rana Magar picked up one wicket each.

In response, APF took only 9.5 overs to complete the target, losing just a couple of wickets. Sita Rana Magar scored a half-century (50* from 35) with eight fours. Kritika Marasini picked up both wickets.

May be an image of 1 person, playing tennis and text that says 'KELME IMEpay CAN VS 6 dafanews o0a PUR MAYOR'S CUP 2024 Second Teacher Lalitpur Metropolitan City dafa LALITPUR MAYOR S CUP 2024 Epay O0 Lalitpur Metropolitan City CAN CAN IMEpa ΤΡΥΡΜΑΥΛΡΗς LALITPUP MAVADIS s C dafaNews 전한프제역ma) KELME dafaNews Lalitpur Metropolitan City o0a Lalitpur Metropolitan City CAN'

In the other game, Bagmati defeated Koshi by eight wickets to bag their first win. Bagmati are still alive in the race for a final but they need to win the remaining one game by a heavy margin and expect Sudurpaschim to lose both games heavily.

Asked to bat first, Koshi posted a score of 63/6 in the allotted 13 overs. The match was shortened to 13 overs after a rain delay. Apsari Begam scored 35 but didn’t get any support from her teammates. Khusi Dangol and Manisha Upadhyay picked up two wickets each for Bagmati.

Bagmati completed the chase in 11.2 overs, losing only two wickets. Yashu Pandey yielded a great start scoring 23-ball 26. Khusi Dangol and Kanchan Shrestha remained unbeaten for 11 runs each and finished the game. After a third consecutive defeat, Koshi is out of the final race.