APF Club win T20 National Cricket Title

KATHMANDU, Jan 1: Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club defeated the Far Western Cricket Development Club on Saturday in the final of the Madan Bhandari Memorial Twenty20 Cricket Tournament at the TU Cricket Ground on Saturday.

Batting first, APF scored 126/9 in 20 overs and restricted Far Western to 92/8 to register a 34-run win.

The hero of APF´s victory was Shakti Gauchan who bowled for 3/5 in 4 overs and also scored 13 runs. Mehboob Alam topscored for APF with 27 in 19 balls with three fours and a six. Captain Paras Khadka (22 off 22) and Subash Khakurel (20 off 37) also contributed to APF´s win.

Although Far Western bowlers were successful in keeping the batsmen silent, they gave away costly 28 extra runs. Bhuwan Karki led the bowling with 3/17 and Santosh Bhatt took 2/12.

In reply, APF bowlers bowled tightly. Although Far Western lost only one wicket in 9 overs, they were only able to score 45 which was below the required run rate. Naresh Budayar scored run-a-ball 27 before Shakti rattled the middle-order.

Prem Upreti (12 off 11), Pradeep Airee (12 off 37) and Binod Chhetri (10 off 12) were only other batsmen reaching two-digit scores. Amrit Bhattarai claimed two wickets.

APF took Rs 40,000 cash as winners while Far Western received Rs 20,000. There was more for Far Western as Bhuwan won the best bowler for 12 wickets in 16 overs and Naresh won the Player of the Series for scoring 106 runs and took five wickets in four matches. Naresh received Rs 10,000.

Subash Pradhan of Yangal Club won the best batsman award for his 160 runs in three innings. Subash and Bhuwan pocketed Rs 5,000 each.

Meanwhile, Madhan Bhandari Sports Academy also felicitated the women´s football squad which won silver medal in the First SAFF Women´s Football Championship held at Cox´s Bazar in Bangladesh from December 12-23. Each member of the squad were given a letter of appreciation and a track-suit set.

Prizes were given by Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal, who was the chief guest of the final, leader K P Sharma Oli, who is the patron of the organizing Madan Bhandari Memorial Turst, Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) President Binaya Raj Pandey, CAN Vice-president Ramesh Silwal, who is also the president of the Turst, APF Chief Sanat Kumar Basnet and CoAS Chhatra Man Singh Gurung.

A month long sports festival organized by Madan Bhandari Sports Academy has come to an end with the completion of cricket.