APF sets T20 title clash with Central Region

Kathmandu – Central Region and APF entered into the finals defeating Western Region by 27 runs and Far Western Region by 20 runs respectively of the Men’s T20 National Cricket Tournament in the ongoing Sixth National Games.

In the first semi final match, winning the toss, Central opted to bat first. With Binod Das top scoring 56 runs off 30 balls with three fours and six sixes, Central put a total of 121 for 10 wickets in 19.5 overs. Other batsman to score double digit score were Anil Mandal (22 off 13), Rajesh Pulami (11 off 15) and Nischal Pandey(10 n.o. off 6).

Bibek Chaudhary picked up three wickets, Lal Bahadur Adhikari grabbed two wickets while Krishna Karki and Bijay Thapa shared wicket apiece for Western Side.

with three wickets from Naresh Raj Giri, two wickets from Nischal Pandey and a wicket each from Bindo Das, Rupesh Shrivastav and Pramod Basnet for Central, Western had to be limited to 94 runs for 8 wickets in maximum 20 overs. Only Fazlur Rehman and Bijay Thapa scored the double digit figure. Rehman played 30 ball-28 with two going for four and a six while Thapa remained not out at 18 runs off 17 balls.

In the second semi final played, top seeded APF stormed into the finals defeating Far Western Region by 20 runs.

APF scored a good total of 149 runs for 8 wickets off 20 overs. Sharad Vesawkar top scored for APF with 34 runs off 32 balls including two fours and a six. Basanta Remi scored 31 runs off just 14 balls with a four and three sixes. Paras Khadka made 29 runs, Paresh Lohani scored 14 runs, Shakti Gauchan made 10 and Sunam Gautam added 10 runs for APF.

Rajendra Bam grabbed two wickets while Chandra Saud, Prem Budal and Bikram Sob picked up a wicket each for Far West.

In reply, Far Western was packed up on 129 runs in 19.1 overs. In the chasing run, Binod Bhandari top scored with 47 runs off 24 balls with three fours and four sixes. Pradeep Airee made 31 runs, Naresh Budhayer scored 11 runs and Santosh Bhatt added 10 runs.

Basanta Regmi remained pick of the bowler grabbing three wickets. Paras Khadka, Mahaboob Alam and Shakri Gauchan share two wicket each while Amrit Bhattarai got a single for APF.

In the women’s first semi final, APF defeated Far Western Region by 4 wickets to progress into final. Eastern Region will join APF in the finals after they defeated Central Region by 40 runs.

For Far Western Roshani Bohara remained not out at 35 runs and Bimala Bhatt remained in the crease with 10 runs. Chetana Bohara made 12 runs before they made 87 for 9 wickets.

Neera Rajopadhyay, Binu Budhamagar and Sarita Magar grabbed two wickets each for APF while Sonu Khadka claimed one.

With Sarita Magar scoring 21 runs, Madhu Thapa adding 19 runs, APF chased the target in just 18.3 overs with four wickets remaining. Karuna Bhandari and Neera Rajopadhyay each remained unbeaten at 11 runs while Binu Budhamagar added 10 runs,

Chetana Bohara and Asha Saki grabbed two wickets each while AnjalI Chand got a one wicket for Far West.

In the women’s second semi final, Eastern put up the total of 112 runs for 7 wickets in 19 overs. Anuradha Chaudhary top scored 25 runs, Mamta CHaudhary scored 24 runs, Kabita Gautam remained not out at 23 runs for Eastern while Kajol Shrestha added 11 runs.

Aarati Bidari, Aarya Aryal, Kamala Rai, Sangeeta Gauchan and Prabha Nepali claimed a wicket each for Central.

Brilliant piece of bowling from Kabita Gautam and Saraswati Chaudhary helped Eastern restrict Central to 72 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. Gautam claimed three wickets while Chaudhary picked up two wickets.

Sobha Ale made 34 runs off 47 balls while Kritu gadhal remained unbeaten at 11 runs, the only other batswomen to make double digit score.

In men’s event, Western Region will face Far Western Region for the third and fourth place play off while APF will meet Central Region in the final.

In women’s event, Cenrtal Region will face Far Western Region for the third and fourth place play off while the final will be played between APF and Eastern Region.


Match Summary of the Semi Final Matches, Day IV
Sixth National Games:
Men’s T-20 National
First Semi Final
Central Region VS Western Region
Toss: Central won & elected to bat first
Central: 121/10 (19.5 overs)
Binod Das 56(30 balls, 3 fours, 6 sixes), Anil Mandal 22(13), Rajesh Pulami 11(15), Nischal Pandey 10 n.o.(6)
Bibek Chaudhary 3 Wkts, Lal Bahadur Adhikari 2 Wkts, Krishna Karki 1 Wkt, Bijay Thapa 1 Wkt
Western: 94/8 (20 overs)
Fazlur Rehman 28(30 balls, 2 fours, 1 six), Bijay Thapa 18 n.o.(17)
Naresh Raj Giri 3 Wkts, Nischal Pandey 2 Wkts, Binod Das 1 Wkt, Rupesh Shrivastav 1 Wkt, Pramod Basnet 1 Wkt
Result: Central won by 27 runs & entered into the final
Sixth National Games:
Women’s T-20 National
First Semi Final
APF Vs Far Western Region
Toss: Far Western won & elected to bat first
Far Western: 87/9 (20 overs)
Roshani Bohara 35 n.o.(46 balls, 1 four), Chetana Bohara 12(12), Bimala Bhatt 10 n.o.(10)
Neera Rajopadhyay 2 Wkts, Binu Budhamagar 2 Wkts, Sarita Magar 2 Wkts, Sonu Khadka 1 Wkt
APF: 89/6 (18.3 overs)
Sarita Magar 21(25 balls, 3 fours), Madhu Thapa 19(24 balls, 3 fours), Karuna Bhandari 11 n.o.(17), Neera Rajopadhyay 11 n.o.(14), Binu Budhamagar 10(8)
Chetana Bohara 2 Wkts, Asha Saki 2 Wkts, Anjali Chand 1 Wkt
Result: APF won by 4 wickets & entered into the final
Sixth National Games:
Men’s T-20 National
Second Semi Final
Armed Police Force(APF) Vs Far Western Region
Toss: APF won & elected to bat first
APF: 149/8 (20 overs)
Sharad Vesawkar 34(32 balls, 2 fours, 1 six), Basanta Regmi 31 n.o.(14 balls, 1 four, 3 sixes), Paras Khadka 29(20 balls, 3 fours, 1 six), Paresh Lohani 14(21), Shakti Gauchan 11(7), Sunam Gautam 10(16)
Rajendra Bam 2 Wkts, Chandra Saud 1 Wkt, Prem Budal 1 Wkt, Bikram Sob 1 Wkt
Far Western: 129/10 (19.1 overs)
Binod Bhandari 47(24 balls 3 fours, 4 sixes), Pradeep Airee 31(22 balls, 2 fours, 2 sixes), Naresh Budhayer 11(19), Santosh Bhatt 10(16)
Basanta Regmi 3 Wkts, Paras Khadka 2 Wkts, Mahaboob Alam 2 Wkts, Shakti Gauchan 2 Wkts, Amrit Bhattarai 1 Wkt
Result: APF won by 20 runs & entered into the final
Sixth National Games:
Women’s T-20 National
Second Semi Final
Eastern Region Vs Central Region
Toss: Eastern won & elected to bat first
Eastern: 112/7 (19 overs)
Anuradha Chaudhary 25(39 balls, 1 four), Mamta Chaudhary 24(24 balls, 4 fours), Kabita Gautam 23(20 balls, 1 four), Kajol Shrestha 11(24)
Aarati Bidari 1 Wkt, Aarya Aryal 1 Wkt, Kamala Rai 1 Wkt, Sangeeta Gauchan 1 Wkt, Prabha Nepali 1 Wkt
Central: 72/7 (20 overs)
Sobha Ale 34(47 balls, 4 fours), Kritu Dahal 11 n.o.(12)
Kabita Gautam 3 Wkts, Sarswati Chaudhary 2 Wkts
Result: Eastern won by 40 runs & entered into the final