Nepal Women, News, PM Cup Women's Tournament

APF women clinch the title of Women’s PM Cup 2080

Armed Police Force (APF) women have clinched the title of Prime Minister (PM) Cup Women’s National Tournament 208. They defeated Koshi Province women by 11 runs in an interesting final to win the title.

APF women were the champions of the 2078 edition in Fapla defeating Koshi itself. Meanwhile, Koshi has lost the final match of the Women’s PM Cup three times in a row. Last time, Sudurpaschim defeated Koshi to win the title.

Chasing a target of 115 runs, Koshi ended their 20 overs at 103/4. Koshi needed 16 runs from the last over with Rubina Chhetri in the strike but Karuna Bhandari dismissed her in the first ball to win it for APF. Rubina scored 62 runs from 58 balls with seven fours and one six. No other batters were able to support her as Koshi ended up on the losing side. Kajol Shrestha added 22 runs whilst none of the other batters managed to cross the double-digit score.

Sita Rana Magar and Karuna Bhandari picked up one wicket each for APF. Two other dismissals were run out.

Earlier in the first innings, APF posted 114/7 after opting to bat first. Indu Barma stepped up and scored a half-century to help her side post a challenging score.

Koshi did a great job in changing the bowlers at the right times, making it difficult for the departmental side to score runs. Sita Rana Magar (1) got out early. Jyoti Pandey made 27 runs before being sent back. Indu Barma and Roma Thapa showed excellent running between the wickets and added 33 runs for the third wicket before Roma was dismissed for 14.

Indu kept going and completed her half-century. She smacked 53 runs from 47 balls with six fours and one six before being dismissed by Apsari Begam in the first ball of the last over. Excitingly, Apsari took a wicket of Nery Thapa and Sonu Khadka in the following balls to complete her hat trick.

APF once again handled experienced bowlers – Sabnam Rai and Sangita Rai with ease and they went wicketless. Alisha Khadiya (4-0-15-2) was brilliant and took two wickets. Apsari Begam took three wickets whereas Nisa Shah and Rubina Chhetri grabbed one wicket each.